Skip to content

lemony chicken and potatoes.

The kids have been sick all month so my time feels super limited in the kitchen.

This recipe, however, is super easy AND so tasty!  A perfect late Spring dish, I paired it with a Goat Cheese and Strawberry Salad with Homemade Balsamic dressing.  And we scarfed it down before there was a near meltdown at the dinner table and all hell broke loose.


Lemony Chicken and Potatoes

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

2 pounds chicken breast ($3.54 at $1.77/lb)

2 russet potatoes ($1.38 at $.69/lb)

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil ($.48 at $.08/tablespoon)

2 lemons (free!)

8 cloves garlic, minced ($.24 at $.03/clove)

1 tablespoon oregano

salt and pepper

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350.  Slice chicken breasts into 3-4 pieces (per breast).  Place on a baking sheet.  Mix 1/4 cup olive oil, juice from 1 lemon, 4 minced cloves garlic, 1/2 tablespoon oregano, salt and pepper and spread on chicken.

Meanwhile, cut up potatoes and place in a bowl.  Toss with remaining 1/4 cup olive oil, juice from 1 lemon, 4 cloves minced garlic, 1/2 tablespoon oregano, salt and pepper.  Spread potatoes flat on a baking sheet.

Cook potatoes for 1 hour 15 minutes until nice and golden.  While cooking, add chicken and cook for 20 minutes (so add the chicken after potatoes have been in the oven approx. 55 minutes).

Serve with quartered lemons.

TOTAL:  $5.64 or $1.41 per serving.  When paired with a veggie or salad total would likely be closer to $1.75.

Nutrition:

460 calories per serving

20 grams of fat

19 carbs

23 grams protein

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mandy #

    Kelly,

    Ana told me about your blog and I’ve loved following it! I made this dish on Thursday for Daniel and I. I got home late from work that day and didn’t really feel like cooking, but had all the ingredients, and it was so easy! I did overcook the chicken a little (my fault- maybe I should invest in a chicken thermometer as Ana now swears by hers). Anyways- this recipe was so good and SO easy, especially after a long day of work. Plus- your tips on where to buy certain foods has been very helpful. Yesterday I went to sprouts to stock up on some fruits and veggies, and didn’t feel like going to TJ’s to get some Brie cheese I needed for last nights dinner, however, after looking at Sprout’s brie- which was something crazy like $11.99/lb., I decided to make a quick run to TJ’s (after reading that cheese is the best deal there). I ended spending 1/2 the price at TJ’s on brie than I would have at Sprouts, but came out of Sprouts w/ bags full of fruits and veggies for less than $30! Thanks for the tips on where to buy certain things… (I never knew TJ’s had such cheap chocolate chips in comparison to the grocery store!) I’m enjoying your blog, and can’t wait to hear more tips on where to shop, and how to shop cheap w/ buying healthy options! And… of course, will try some more of your recipes!
    -Mandy

    June 5, 2011
    • Yay! So glad you are liking it! Keep the feedback coming!
      K

      June 6, 2011
  2. I made this the other night since I happened to have all of the ingredients. I thought it might be bland, but it tasted delicious. I sauteed some artichoke hearts and yellow zucchini squash in olive oil, lemon, salt and pepper and added it on top of the chicken at the end. It was super tasty! Thanks for the yummy recipe.

    July 3, 2011
    • I love, love, LOVE artichoke hearts! What a great addition! I’ll have to try it next time. Thanks for the suggestion!
      K

      July 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

