Skip to content

chicken, goat cheese, and apple salad with toasted walnuts.

Tonight felt like a salad kind of night.  In part because I was craving Golden Spoon frozen yogurt, and since it had been such a warm day a salad just seemed right.  ” />I figured for those reasons we would eat a nice, healthy, low-carb salad and then head to the “G Store” (as Emma calls it) for a “T-R-E-A-T” (Emma’s now learning to spell so our days of spelling this word are numbered).

The salad includes toasted walnuts, which I just heated on a skillet for about 5 minutes, shaking the pan a little bit as they get fragrant.

And then there’s the goat cheese.  I have a confession to make: I could eat goat cheese with just about anything.

Chicken, Goat Cheese and Apple Salad with Toasted Walnuts

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

4 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil, divided ($.32 at $.08/tablespoon)

1 1/2 pounds chicken breast, cubed ($2.66 at $1.77/lb)

2 shallots, sliced ($.69 at $2.99/lb)

1/4 cup toasted walnuts ($1.50 at $5.99/lb)

1 granny smith apple, sliced thin ($.53 at $1.29/lb)

2 oz. goat cheese, crumbled ($.60 at $2.99 for 5 oz)

6 cups shredded green or romaine lettuce ($.88 at $.88 per head)

salt and pepper

lemon juice (free!)

Instructions

Saute slices of shallots in 1 tablespoon olive oil until soft.  Add another tablespoon of olive oil and cook the chicken, stirring occasionally, until cooked through, 8-10 minutes. Sprinkle with salt, remove from pan and chill.

When chicken has cooled, toss together in a medium bowl the shallots, chicken, sliced green apple, walnuts and romaine. Dress with remaining olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste.  Sprinkle with goat cheese.

TOTAL:  $7.18 or $1.80 per serving.

Nutrition:

333 calories per serving

20 grams of fat

5.5 carbs

32 grams protein

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Caitlin Sogoian #

    Ummm…so lemons are free in Irvine? Basically I’m going to need you to drop off some free lemons as I slum it in Costa Mesa. I’ll be home Tuesday. 😉

    Love the recipe, the blog, and most of all fabulous YOU—keep it up Kelly!

    May 26, 2011
    • We’re going to Home Depot next weekend and getting you a lemon tree. We can even put it in a stainless steel pot so Justin will approve of how it matches the rest of the house 🙂

      May 26, 2011
  2. Candace Jackson #

    Congrats on your new blog. I look forward to seeing more of it. BTW, the photographs, whoever taught you how to use a camera like that? 😉

    May 27, 2011
  3. Kelly P. #

    I will definitely be following this!!! Loved your description of how you do the ads each week. I always thought it not practical to drive all over the place to save $1 here and a $1 there. I like how you advise to go to the store with the most overall savings. 🙂

    May 27, 2011
  4. Chantal #

    Kelly, I LOVE your food blog – the concept, the style, and of course, the food. I have always wanted to start a blog. Great job! I can’t wait to see your next post.

    May 27, 2011
  5. I think you are the best blogger ever. But then again, I am your mother. And then there’s the fact that you treated me to Golden Spoon the other night, so I have to be nice.

    May 29, 2011
    • Thanks! I come from an inspiring family of food lovers and artists. Not sure where the miserly side came from…

      May 30, 2011
  6. Christy Bailey #

    Really beautiful blog, Kelly! Great photos and I’m looking forward to seeing more and trying out the recipes!

    May 30, 2011
  7. Amber #

    I made this last night and it turned out great! This was my first time cooking with goat cheese. I will definitely be cooking with it again. Thanks Kelly!

    June 2, 2011
    • So glad you liked it! I get my goat cheese from TJs but if you really really decide to start cooking regularly with it you might pick it up at Costco…it’s about the same price but you get more.

      June 2, 2011
  8. Megan #

    Yummy! This was a huge hit with my family. Can’t wait to try the meatloaf!

    March 30, 2012
    • When it’s a winner with the family, I’m a happy lady 🙂

      March 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

