Skip to content

whole wheat chocolate chip cookies.

I learned two things this morning:

1.  With the right camera you can make even the ugliest cookies look pretty good.

2.  Even the ugliest cookies can actually be quite delicious.

I was thinking how we are so blessed to have Kitchenaid mixers, and then I thought about how toned my arms would be if we still had to mix everything by hand.

The whole wheat makes the recipe a lot healthier so, you know…have a few…

Emma doesn’t mind this whole food blog thing.

Oh goodness.  They look so pretty here.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

(30 cookies)

What You’ll Need:

1 1/2 sticks butter, at room temperature ($1.12 at $.75 per stick)

3/4 cup white sugar ($.19 at $.50/lb)

3/4 cup brown sugar ($.28 at $.75/lb

1 egg ($.12 at $1.49/dozen)

1 tsp. vanilla (I make my own, I’ll show you how in a bit)

2.5 cups whole wheat flour ($1.13 at $.75/lb)

1 tsp baking soda (I really have no idea here, but it’s cheap)

2 cups chocolate chips ($2.29/bag at TJ’s)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix together butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla.  Add flour and baking soda and mix just until incorporated…don’t overmix.  Finally add chocolate chips (and anything else you want to add…nuts, m&ms, other chips, etc).

I refrigerated the dough maybe 10 minutes before putting them on an ungreased cookie sheet (I used about 2 tablespoons of dough per cookie and they were pretty large) and might actually try doing it for longer next time since they ended up a little flat.  Bake 8-10 minutes and let cool before removing from cookie sheet.

TOTAL:  $5.13

Nutrition:

180 calories per cookie

8 grams of fat

25 carbs

2 grams protein

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Carly #

    I can attest to the tastiness of these yummy cookies! I would have never guessed they were wheat. Nice trick Kel- you often fool me into eating healthy & I like it!

    May 27, 2011
  2. Jen #

    This is so cool Kel! I love your creativity and to see Emma helping! I can’t wait to try all of your creations! I always need fresh ideas and it helps to remind me how much less expensive it can be when we make things from scratch! Love you girl!

    May 27, 2011
    • Love the feedback from Austin!! Keep it coming…anything you want to see, eat, etc. Coming up is Wine Friday!

      May 27, 2011
  3. Sarah #

    So, I’m making these right now, and is there suppose to be 2 cups of flour instead of 3? I think so because the dough was too crumbly. I added another stick of butter, 2 eggs, and some more sugar. We’ll see how it turns out. My daughter is enjoying herself as she licks the mixer 🙂 We love baking together!

    August 21, 2011
    • Thank you Sarah! I apologize – it should have been 2.5 cups, but let me know how it turns out when you added the extra eggs and butter. Happy baking!
      K

      August 21, 2011
      • Sarah #

        They’re delicious, and I love that they’re whole wheat! I don’t feel too guilty eating them! Thanks!

        August 21, 2011
  4. Kate Tousley #

    I made these the other day and baked 1/3 of the batch and froze the rest. The first batch seemed too sweet and I thought needed salt. So, the next time I cooked them I formed them in balls and then dipped them in a sea salt. They were SO good that way. Is it just me or do they seem to need the salt aspect? Thanks for the recipe!

    June 7, 2012
    • Oooohh…sea salt would be delicious!! I don’t recall them tasting too sweet and not salty enough. Did you use unsalted butter? I’ll give them a try again and maybe adjust the recipe. Oh but the sea salt. Yum! Sorry they were too sweet – glad you only made 1/3 of the batch!

      June 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

