Skip to content

cottage cheese pancakes.

You know those go-to family recipes that are passed on from generation to generation?

Well this is ours.

I’m actually glad to put this recipe up because it means I don’t have to keep bugging my dad for it every time I want to make them but can’t recall the proportions.  We love us some cottage cheese pancakes (and our love affair only deepened during the Atkins craze). I’m pretty sure I’ve eaten my weight in these delightful little pancakes over the years.

Did I mention there are only 5 ingredients in this delicious recipe?  So simple…so easy.  You probably have most of the ingredients in your kitchen already (ok, the cottage cheese might be stretch…).

Light and crepe-like, you can top with virtually anything…lemon and powdered sugar, maple syrup, berries, sauteed bananas or apples, strawberry preserves.  They are super kid-friendly and great for breakfast OR a quick dinner.

Cottage Cheese Pancakes

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1 1/4 cup lowfat cottage cheese ($1.24 at $1.99/2 cups)

4 eggs ($.48 at $.12 per)

4 egg whites ($.48 at $.12 per)

4 tablespoons butter, melted ($.36 at $.09/tablespoon)

8 tablespoons flour ($.12 at $.02/tablespoon)

Maple Syrup, berries, lemon/powdered sugar, sauteed apples or bananas, applesauce, etc.

Instructions:

OK, I hope this isn’t too complicated 😉

Whip up cottage cheese in a bowl (to make it less “cottage-y”).

Add eggs, melted butter and flour and mix thoroughily.

Liberally spray a non-stick griddle pan and heat for a minute or two, then add cottage cheese batter using a 1/4 cup for each pancake.

Flip over once the sides bubble.  They’ll be all hot and oozy and you may need to refrain from eating them right off the pan.

Top with your favorite ingredients and then call my dad and tell him how much you loved them 😉

*Lighten it up – You can substitute whole wheat flour for the white flour to make it a bit healthier and can also use all egg whites as well.

TOTAL:  $2.68 or $.67 per serving.

Nutrition:

276 calories per serving (4 pancakes)

16 grams of fat

14 carbs

17 grams protein

.5 grams of fiber

32 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love that you are sharing our family favorites to your virtual friends. If any of you readers has ever been a guest at our home, you’ve likely been served a plateful of these!

    June 5, 2011
  2. Angela #

    Yum! Can’t wait to try these out! I’m thinking Nutella might be tastey!

    June 5, 2011
    • Let me know if you try the Nutella! Really you can’t go wrong with chocolate and hazlenuts…

      June 5, 2011
      • Sarah #

        I’m now a huge fan of Peanut Butter & Co Dark Chocolate Dreams PB. They have it at Target and Henry’s. SO good. It has waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay less sugar than Nutella. Where Nutella’s top ingredients are sugar and vegetable oil, Dark Chocolate Dreams’ first ingredient is peanuts. And it tastes like a treat but has the same calories and and fat as normal PB. Try it if you haven’t. Yum.

        June 6, 2011
      • ooohhhh…I have to try it! Yum!

        June 6, 2011
  3. carol #

    Wow – those look incredible, and healthy!!
    Can’t wait to make them – may try them with almond flour though, since I’m trying to do the gluten-free thing.

    June 5, 2011
    • Carol,
      Would be so interested in hearing how the almond flour works for you! Andrew is trying to do mostly gluten-free so I’d love to know what you think.
      K

      June 5, 2011
      • Did the almond Flour work? I’m a huge fan

        June 23, 2011
      • Aida,
        Haven’t tried the almond flour but I’ll check with Carol who had the original idea. I imagine it would be fabulous! If you try it let me know!
        K

        June 23, 2011
      • sarah #

        I didn’t have enough eggs to do this one, so I found a recipe that used oatmeal. I doubled it, so it was 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of cottage cheese, 4 eggs and 2 tsp vanilla. Whip it in a blender and cook them up. Delish. Might help with the gluten free thing. Although, it’s a little more carb heavy than Kelly’s. And Kelly’s look prettier.

        July 21, 2011
      • Love the oatmeal addition! Was that in addition to the flour?
        K

        July 21, 2011
      • sarah #

        No, there was no flour at all. Made it extra easy. I don’t like measuring flour. I know. I’m lame.

        July 21, 2011
  4. Kelly P. #

    So excited to try these! Neither kid eats cottage cheese, but they both love pancakes! Thanks!!

    June 5, 2011
    • Andrew doesn’t like cottage cheese either but LOVES them!
      Thanks for stopping by!
      K

      June 5, 2011
  5. Mitzi Kelly #

    I have had the pleasure of having these pancakes and I have to say they are absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    June 5, 2011
  6. Hubster will love these! I’ll have to give them a go!

    June 5, 2011
    • Thanks! Let me know what you think. My husband could eat them by the dozen.
      Kelly

      June 5, 2011
  7. Sarah #

    I made these for my family today for a Father’s Day treat, and we loved them! Great recipe!

    June 20, 2011
    • Thanks Sarah! It’s a favorite around our place too. Glad they disappoint on such an important day!

      June 20, 2011
  8. Just tried this recipe this morning, delicious! My daughter loved it too. We used guava jelly. Hard to find… but it’s made by Smuckers and I’ve only seen it at Ralphs. Thanks Kelly!

    June 28, 2011
    • Guava jelly…makes me want to go someplace tropical! I’m sure it was great! Did you try almond flour?
      K

      June 29, 2011
  9. I made these this morning and topped them with organic strawberry jam (from Costco). They were really yummy and reminded me of an old family recipe for German cottage cheese dumplings. I had to add quite a bit more flour because my batter was really runny. (I used whole wheat flour and was pleased with the results). Have you ever tried using a “savory” topping, rather than sweet? I think the pancakes are really good plain, too.

    July 9, 2011
  10. sarah #

    I’m planning to make these for dinner tonight!

    July 21, 2011
  11. Kelly, this just amazing! I am drooling just looking at it…thanks for sharing! i can’t wait to explore more your recipes!

    August 22, 2011
  12. This looks sooo good! I LOVE cottage cheese!! I wonder if this would work in a waffle maker? I’m not a very good pancake maker but can kick out a mean waffle 🙂 Thanks for the recipe! Love your blog!!

    August 25, 2011
  13. Carly #

    I finally made these this morning!! I have had it on my mind forever…and I must say Savannah (18 months) & I LOVED them!! Delicious, light, airy, & oh so yummy! I added blueberries & bananas to hers to add a few more vitamins. She gobbled it right up.

    July 10, 2012
    • Yay! If you can get past cottage cheese being in the recipe they are so delicious! So glad you (and my sweet 18-month foodie to be) enjoyed them.

      July 10, 2012
  14. Grace #

    I accidentally bought chive cottage cheese but I made them anyway. I browned them in olive oil and served them with bacon, they were great for a savory dinner! Now can’t wait to try them sweet. Thank you for a great family recipe

    August 1, 2012
    • I’ve never heard of chive cottage cheese! I’ll be savory would be fabulous! Thanks for the ideas and so glad you enjoyed them!

      August 2, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 9 Pancake Toppings You’ve Probably Never Tried

Leave a Reply

