Skip to content

flourless pb&j thumbprints.

Now that I have 2 small kids I’ve regressed a little in my eating habits.

For instance, for breakfast I’ll often forego my usual egg on whole wheat, opting instead for bowl of cheerios (which we buy by the metric ton). I’ve also taken to loving pretzels, popsicles, Pirate’s Booty, a last minute grilled cheese, and the occasional handful of goldfish.

But nothing says kid food like peanut butter and jelly.

This is it’s own pb&j, except it’s a pb & j… & s & e & bs. Peanut butter. Jelly. Sugar. Egg. Baking Soda. Just 5 simple ingredients. That’s it.

Roll them up into little balls, press down with your index finger, and plop on a bit of your favorite jelly. Then be prepared to become a kid again.

Flourless PB&J Thumbprints

(2 dozen)

What You’ll Need:

1 cup natural peanut butter ($.72 at $1.69/jar at tjs)

1 cup white sugar ($.30 at $.60/lb)

1 egg ($.12 at $.12 per)

1 tsp. baking soda (trace)

1/4 cup preserves ($.36 at $.12/tablespoon for strawberry preserves at TJs)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine peanut butter and sugar for about 2 minutes until well mixed. Add egg and baking soda and blend another 2 minutes. Dough may be crumbly – that’s normal; roll it in teaspoon size balls and place on a baking sheet. Press down with your index finger and fill the hole with jam.

Bake 12 minutes, or until slightly browned. Cool on a baking rack.

TOTAL: $1.50 or $.06 per cookie

Nutrition:

114 calories per cookie

6 grams of fat

13 carbs

4 grams protein

.7 grams of fiber

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kelly, do you think I can use agave instead of sugar? The recipe looks great!

    June 14, 2011
    • I bet that would be a fabulous substitution! Let me know how it works if you swap the sugar for agave.
      K

      June 14, 2011
  2. Sarah #

    My favorite series of photographs so far! This is gonna send some fame your way…can’t wait to try these, they look delish! Keep up the fabulous work, friend!

    June 14, 2011
    • you know that means the world to me…
      k

      June 14, 2011
  3. Jen #

    I am going to make these today! I love your Foodography!

    June 14, 2011
    • thanks Jen! Maybe you could be my Austin communications director?!

      June 14, 2011
  4. Cyndi #

    Kelly, these look awesome! I know my boys will love them 🙂 We have a no nut policy at my school, but they sound easy and yummy.. Do you have any other easy recipes like this that I could make with a bunch of kids after school that don’t have nuts?? Keep up the fantastic blog and I will try to get my Aussie friends to be frugal foodie followers!! Xx

    June 14, 2011
    • Thanks Cyndi! So fun to have an international reader!!!
      I have a few other go-to snacks that I’ll post, no nuts. So fun to hear from you!
      k

      June 15, 2011
  5. Ana #

    This is my fav pic to date! I can’t wait to try these with Mia. She loves PB&J!

    June 15, 2011
    • Thanks ana! I bet Mia will have fun with these.
      K

      June 15, 2011
  6. Amber #

    We made these this week and they are yummy! The kids had fun making them too!

    June 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

