Skip to content

almond crusted chicken.

I made this last week for my Supper Swap.

Have we talked Supper Swap?  It’s seriously the greatest invention among friends who cook and eat (and really, I’m not sure that leaves anyone out).  I see a post in our future.  Basically, you find a friend (or friends) and swap meals during the week.  Not only does it save you a night of cooking but it helps you break out of your dinner rut, giving you a reason to find new recipes and get creative with different flavors.

So for this chicken dish you need breadcrumbs, egg and almonds.  If you’re uber-cheap like me you can make your own breadcrumbs, and we’ll talk about that a little later as part of an extra credit lesson.

So what’s fun about this is you can get the kids involved.  It’s a hands-on recipe, with all that rolling and shaking and rolling again in your ingredients.  Then saute the chicken up and serve with your favorite veggie or salad.  Bon apetit!

Almond Crusted Chicken

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

3/4 cup breadcrumbs ($.32 at $.42/cup or make your own for free)

salt and pepper

2 eggs ($.24 at $.12 per egg)

2 tsp. water

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (1.5 pounds), divided into 2 ($2.98 at $1.99/lb)

1/2 cup sliced or slivered almonds, crushed ($1.50 at $5.99/lb)

1 tablespoon butter ($.09 at $.09/tablespoon)

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil ($.08 at $.08/tablespoon)

italian parsley, for garnish

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400.

In a medium bowl, season bread crumbs with salt and pepper.  Place eggs in a bowl with water and beat lightly.

Dip chicken in the egg, wiping away excess, and then coat with breadcrumb mixture until lightly coated.  Dip chicken in the egg again and coat with almonds.

Heat butter and oil in an ovenproof skillet over medium heat.  Saute chicken until browned, about 3 minutes, then turn over.  Cook 2-3 minutes more.  Transfer the pan to the oven and bake until chicken is cooked through, abut 10 minutes.  Garnish with fresh italian parsley.

TOTAL:  $5.21 or $1.30 per serving.  Serve with this orzo recipe and you’re around $1.78 per person.

Nutrition:

498 calories per serving

21 grams of fat

17 carbs

51 grams protein

2 grams fiber

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Stephanie #

    I make something similar to this one! It would add some to your budget, but I usually have the extra ingredients in the pantry anyway. Instead of egg, I mix equal parts olive oil, dijon mustard and honey with some salt and pepper. And for bread crumbs I blend up some old homemade croutons that were baked with a little olive oil and minced garlic. “Lecker!” (German – “delicious”)

    June 16, 2011
    • Sounds delicious! Keep the ideas coming…
      all the way from Zurich.
      K

      June 16, 2011
  2. 68 grams of protein! Wow, that’s crazy.

    June 16, 2011
    • That’s actually if everyone has 1/2 pound (or 8 oz.). I revised it to be about 1/3 pound or 51 grams protein. Pretty crazy still, huh?

      June 16, 2011
  3. We were gluten free for awhile (serious kid food allergies) and I still have a bunch of almond meal/flour. Wonder if that would be as good as the bigger almond pieces. Hmmm…

    June 16, 2011
    • Use it up and let me know what you think! Probably won’t be as crunchy but I would guess would retain that almondy taste. Yum.

      June 16, 2011
  4. Angela #

    If you hadn’t noticed I am finally catching up on my comments! I have been trying recipes for awhile but have not given you my feedback until tonight! I just noticed Lisa’s comment about the almond meal and that is actually what I used instead of flour. I wasn’t sure if it would be too much almond but it turned out delicious! It adds a bit more to the cost but a lot healthier! I am not sure if it was the almond meal but my crust seemed to fall off very easily. Maybe it would have stuck better with the bread crumbs? I also usually flour my meat before dipping it in the egg which, so I’ve been told, is to help the batter stick better. I’m going to try again in a few weeks using that method and I’ll let you know if it helped!
    This was one of the most delicious chicken dishes I’ve made! Lucy is not a big meat fan and I think she ate half a breast!!! It came out super moist and tender! Thanks for sharing!

    August 7, 2011
  5. Rebecca #

    “Best chicken I’ve ever had” – my very picky boyfriend. I won’t tell him how inexpensive and easy it was!

    June 13, 2012
    • Yippee! Thanks Rebecca. Always love when the picky boyfriends are happy 🙂

      June 13, 2012
  6. I have made this chicken a few times now… delicious Kelly! The almonds on the outside give a great crunch and are delicious!

    October 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

