Skip to content

prosciutto and caramelized onion pizza.


There are times in life when it’s just right to have sweet and salty together…and for those times, there is this recipe.  Caramelized red onions that have been swimming in brown sugar, under salty prosciutto.  It’s heaven.

Emma always wants a job while I’m cooking in the kitchen.  Tonight it was “painting the olive oil” on our pizza dough.

So just to confirm we’re all on the same page here – cheese, sweet caramelized onions, and then prosciutto.  No, seriously.  This combination of flavors is out of this world.

Prosciutto and Caramelized Onion Pizza

Adapted from Pioneer Woman

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1 pizza dough (I used TJ’s Whole Wheat – $1.29)

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil ($.08 at $.08/tablespoon)

1 whole red onion halved and thinly sliced ($.59 at $.59/lb)

1/4 cup brown sugar ($.10 at $.75/lb)

sea salt

1/4 cup asiago or parmesan cheese ($.31 at $4.99/lb)

1 cup grated mozzarella or thinly sliced fresh mozzarella ($1.24 at $4.99/lb)

2-3 oz. prosciutto (about $2.00 for half a 5 oz. package at $3.99)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a skillet.  Add onions and brown sugar and cook for 5-7 minutes, or until onions are cooked and become sort of caramely.

Roll out pizza dough to desired thickness.

Brush dough with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt and asiago or parmesan cheese.  Top with mozzarella and then caramelized onions.

Bake about 15 minutes in the oven at the lowest rack, until crust is golden brown.  Remove from oven, top with prosciutto, slice, and prepare to be dazzled.

TOTAL:  $5.61 or $1.40 per serving.  Serve with a side salad and you’re probably around $1.75 per person.

Nutrition:

430 calories per serving (using TJ’s crust)

17 grams of fat

57 carbs

18 grams protein

4 grams fiber

SO…give it a try and let me know what you think!

98 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wonderful post thanks for sharing. I enjoyed reading it very much. Food and recipes are something I enjoy sharing very much.

    I recommend you check out this great recipe also:

    Baked Apple Pie

    June 21, 2011
  2. F Bransby #

    Loved your pizza recipes today. Only wish they had been made by you and not by the amateurs. But yummy!

    June 27, 2011
    • Thank you! They looked amazing, especially right out of the pizza oven! I think that egg and bacon one is definitely one to add here.
      So great to see you!
      K

      June 27, 2011
  3. Loved the contrast of the sweet and the salty flavors. Will definitely make this pizza again!

    July 9, 2011
  4. Yummiest bit of pizza making I’ve seen in a while…might be our dinner tonight!

    August 22, 2011
  5. I really like this! And you include prices and nutritional information on here.. awesome! Looks really, REALLY good..

    Edwin

    August 22, 2011
  6. There may be nothing better than that uber cool combination of sweet and salty — this looks AMAZING!

    August 22, 2011
  7. Gorgeous pizza. I love caramelizing onions. So cheap, but so fancy.

    August 22, 2011
  8. gonna try it.. nice pizza ..thank you for the recipe

    August 22, 2011
  9. Mmmm, looks wonderful. We make a homemade pizza on Fridays, and have been enjoying the simple olive oil/minced garlic sauce. Might have to try caramelizing some of our garden onions!

    August 22, 2011
  10. I’ll be right over…..You had me at carmelized onions

    August 22, 2011
  11. JackNapier #

    pizza + onions :Q_______________

    August 22, 2011
  12. Yum. I’m going to try this one!

    August 22, 2011
  13. Looks AMAZING. Great photos, and I can confirm that this flavour combination is delicious. Well done!

    August 22, 2011
  14. All I can say is OMG YUM. I don’t know why you thought we wouldn’t think this is fabulous:)

    August 22, 2011
  15. O gosh, that looks AMAZING! Can’t wait to try that recipe out

    August 22, 2011
  16. I’ve loved onion pizza since I was a kid, in my home town they are called ‘Zwiebel Blotz’. Yum! I have a craving for it now.

    August 22, 2011
  17. Great idea! I use the “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes” technique of keeping pizza dough on hand and now want to try your recipe with those techniques.

    I also am working on cooking pizzas outside to save the oven heat in the summer:
    http://billchance.org/2011/08/20/baking-bread/

    Keep up the great work!

    August 22, 2011
  18. That’s just simple amazing! perfect combination! thanks for sharing this!

    August 22, 2011
  19. cookingforthefunofit #

    this looks really tasty,

    August 22, 2011
  20. You are so right on with this recipe!! I love it. Thank you for posting because I was hoping to make something like this that I have had a neighborhood pub, but they swap the mozzarella for gorgonzola and add figs. That ups the cost for the home cook a suspect, but it is outrageous! BTW, this is the first time reading your blog… it’s great! Thank you!

    August 22, 2011
    • I don’t think you could ever go wrong mixing cheese with figs. Yum.
      Thanks for the feedback!
      K

      August 23, 2011
  21. Great post—have had an onion and goat cheese pizza in the past, they are phenomenal!

    August 22, 2011
  22. Interesting! Creative! Looks good!

    August 22, 2011
  23. Yum! Looks Delicious!

    August 22, 2011
  24. WOW! All of my favorite ingredients rolled into one recipe..can hardly wait to give it a try!
    Thanks for sharing and Congrats on FP!

    August 22, 2011
  25. this is tres awesome! 🙂

    i loved it all. Pizza, onion, and prosciutto … cant go wrong with that!

    will make it again for sure!

    Cheers,
    Arjun Kay

    http://arjunsmind.wordpress.com/

    August 22, 2011
  26. that looks amazing!

    August 22, 2011
  27. Okay it’s Monday and almost lunchtime and I’m officially HUNGRY! Gimme some Italian, gimme some Italian!

    August 22, 2011
  28. mmm, i feel my belly stirring just reading this! What an unusual combo! Looking forward to trying this out, thanks for the recipe =)

    August 22, 2011
  29. would love to have a slice of this right now!

    August 22, 2011
  30. delicious food photos here. yummmmmmmmmm.

    August 22, 2011
  31. yum yum

    August 22, 2011
  32. That pizza looks absolutely delicious!

    August 22, 2011
  33. That’s a tasty-lookin’ pizza! Just my thing!

    August 22, 2011
  34. Lovely authentic looking pizza – much better than an oily takeaway pizza covered in an inch of cheese! I like to make my own pizza dough too, it comes out of the oven lovely and fresh and doesn’t burn around the edges like a pre-cooked base can do sometimes. Check out my blog if you want some more food and bread ideas! I’m mainly concentrating on traditional British recipes but I do have a good ciabatta recipe on there if you’re interested.

    August 22, 2011
  35. Great stuff.
    Lovely job here, very unique
    http://photogirl23.wordpress.com
    Amy

    August 22, 2011
  36. I used this Pioneer Woman recipe over the summer on a gluten-free crust for my sister and it was delicious!

    August 22, 2011
  37. We just sold our home with an outdoor pizza oven. It’s good to find pizza recipes that work well in a conventional oven!

    August 22, 2011
  38. Getting hungry reading this!

    August 22, 2011
  39. my boyfriend is 100 percent italian, and i’m pretty sure he’d poop his pants if i made this for him…in a good way, of course. looks amazing, and if i get the time and motivation (perhaps a somewhat special occassion), i’m all over this. thanks for sharing!
    http://www.icouldntmakethisshitup.wordpress.com

    August 22, 2011
  40. I tried something similar once but didn’t add the prosciutto. Looks like a perfect addition! Love your blog, btw 🙂

    August 22, 2011
  41. This looks amazing and my stomach is now growling! I’m putting this dish on my “to make” list. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed today!

    August 22, 2011
  42. yummy!

    August 22, 2011
  43. Those pictures just made my mouth water. Pizza and other wheat-based food like bread usually aren’t my thing, but your prosciutto and caramelized onion pizza looks just great. I’ll have to ask my mom to bake it sometime. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

    What I like best about your post is how you equate a life lesson to great food. Eating great food is so fun, isn’t it?

    August 23, 2011
    • You bet! Thanks for the feedback!
      K

      August 23, 2011
  44. looks amazing!

    August 23, 2011
  45. Dee #

    Pizza is my favourite food. AND I love making it. Usually my recipe consists of homemade tomato sauce. Cooked with diced garlic/white onions/red peppers and then just put that reduced sauce right onto the pizza. WITH ground beef. It’s delicious.

    But yours I have to try!! Thanks for the topping inspiration!

    August 23, 2011
  46. The pizza looks great. I can’t imagine where you are getting your prices though. Parmesan must be at least $12.00 per pound if you use real Parmesan and grate your own. Sea salt is also expensive. Red onions in my neck of the woods are $2.00 per pound (that’s from an organic farm though)

    August 23, 2011
    • Thanks! I usually shop at TJ’s or Sprouts here in Orange County, Ca. I typically sub asiago for Parmesan since it is similar and costs $5 per pound instead of $12-20. And I get my sea salt from Cost Plus – I think it was about $5 per bottle. Thanks for the feedback!

      August 23, 2011
  47. im so gonna try this! 😀

    August 23, 2011
  48. Oh MY YUM.

    August 23, 2011
  49. Delicious going to try it for tea tomorrow!

    August 23, 2011
  50. great piece, i will definitely try it someday.. 😀

    August 23, 2011
  51. Erin Michel #

    My husband and I LOVE making pizza and think just about anything is good on a pizza! I cannot wait to try this combination!

    August 23, 2011
  52. So good!

    August 23, 2011
  53. Looks delicious, i will let my girl friend try this one. Thanks for your recipe.

    August 23, 2011
  54. That looks beyond heavenly!
    WOW!

    August 23, 2011
  55. hmm that looks very interesting

    August 23, 2011
  56. seems like i have come late to the party but that looks divine!

    August 23, 2011
  57. That really does look delicious!!

    http://pjmgfashionn11.wordpress.com/

    August 23, 2011
  58. The pictures just made my mouth water!!!!

    August 23, 2011
  59. Carlie Chew #

    Yum, sounds amazing. I can’t wait to try it : )

    August 23, 2011
  60. That looks yummy and I wish I can have a big slice

    August 23, 2011
  61. Looks really good

    August 23, 2011
  62. I think they just heard my stomach rumble the next county over. YUM.

    August 23, 2011
  63. I am caramelizing onions tonight! I will have to figure out an alternative to pizza dough since we’re in temporary lodging for the next few days (stovetop only, no oven).

    Yummy!

    August 23, 2011
  64. the images are absolutely tongue-wetting! thanks says me as i head out to find something that looks like these pics! ;- )*

    August 23, 2011
  65. I’m going to make a grilled version of this pizza tonight. Yum! Thanks!

    August 23, 2011
  66. Amanda #

    Who doesn’t love a pizza! We make a great gluten-free pizza often and experiment with all sorts of toppings! Looks yummy!

    Amanda
    http://bullfrogsandbulldogs.wordpress.com/

    August 23, 2011
  67. hope it tastes good 🙂 i.m making myself one

    August 23, 2011
  68. Wow! Sounds incredible. Wish I hadn’t just had dinner, would be making this for sure! Thanks for sharing

    August 23, 2011
  69. kat #

    oh my gosh, that looks amazing!! i am now craving my very own pizza! thanks for sharing! 🙂

    August 24, 2011
  70. mmm….looks delicious!

    August 24, 2011
  71. yummy goodness! i love prosciutto and i love pizza, put them together and it makes for a good couple. ill be trying this recipe soon!

    August 25, 2011
  72. photos are incredible, definitely making me hungry!

    August 25, 2011
  73. Looks great! Getting hungry all over again!

    August 27, 2011
  74. AHHHH! This looks so so good. I love the generous portion of prosciutto.

    August 29, 2011
  75. Fabulous pizza. I love cooking and having my kids help. I think it is a great way for children to learn about food and to appreciate. This is so simple and I bet it goes down a treat with all in the family. Well done on being freshly pressed!

    August 30, 2011
  76. Allison #

    Wow, looks so good! Have to try this. 🙂

    September 3, 2011
  77. kat #

    Omigosh that looks soooo yummy! I love Trader Joe’s too! 🙂

    September 5, 2011
    • Thank you thank you!
      K

      September 5, 2011
  78. realanonymousgirl2011 #

    Nice! I love TJ’s pizza dough. They make a great pizza sauce too!

    September 7, 2011
  79. robbiebueno #

    That looks lovely! 🙂
    Love the family blog idea as well! x

    September 14, 2011
    • Thanks @robbiebueno!
      K

      September 14, 2011
  80. Nice idea, I love anything that involves caramelized onions.

    Keep up the good work.

    September 15, 2011
    • Many thanks! Love caramelized onions too.
      K

      September 16, 2011
  81. Now THIS is just GLORIOUS. Love it!!! Thank you for sharing!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    September 17, 2011
  82. Just fantastic, thanks for sharing. I want some now!

    September 21, 2011
    • Thank you thelegaltart!
      K

      September 21, 2011
  83. Phenomenal looking pizza. Really can’t go wrong with caramelized onions and prosciutto. 🙂

    Cheers!

    Btw…this pizza I posted isn’t necessary inexpensive, but you might enjoy it nonetheless: http://sports-glutton.com/2011/09/14/lobster-roasted-corn-grilled-pizza-recipe/

    September 22, 2011
    • Lobster pizza?!! Holy smokes. I’ll take a break from frugal for that…
      K

      September 22, 2011
  84. kimly25 #

    This is ridiculously good! I wanted to eat it all… Thanks for a great recipe and for the meal plans!

    May 8, 2012
    • Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it…and the plans too.

      May 8, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Reblog: pizza I sort of NEED to make… « Music Major Musings
  2. Easy Eats: Prosciutto and Carmelized Onion Pizza « The YeYo Diaries
  3. Easy Eats: Prosciutto and Carmelized Onion Pizza @ The YeYo Diaries

Leave a Reply

