Skip to content

honey peanut chicken.

Here’s what I love about stir frys:  You kinda can’t mess them up.  Unless, of course, you forget some major ingredient like garlic or chicken.  In that case you might just need to pick up the phone and call for takeout.  But don’t do that, because it costs way more than making it at home for $5.39.  Just follow this easy recipe, which doesn’t have many ingredients anyway so you should be good to go.  Enjoy!

Honey Peanut Chicken

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (1.5 pounds), cubed ($2.98 at $1.99/lb)

1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce ($.21 at $.07/tablespoon)

2 tablespoons honey ($.34 at $.17/tablespoon)

juice from one lime ($.25 per)

1 clove minced garlic ($.03 at $.03 per clove)

1.5 tablespoons natural peanut butter ($.10 at $1.69/jar)

1/2 teaspoons curry powder (trace)

Pre-cooked veggies (I used green beans, about a half pound) ($1.00 at $1.99/lb)

Brown rice ($.48 at $.99/lb)

Instructions

Mix all marinade ingredients in a bowl, then add chicken and marinate 1-2 hours.

Cook chicken in the marinade over medium-high heat for 7-8 minutes until chicken is cooked through.  Reduce heat and add any precooked veggies (green beans, zucchini, broccoli, etc) until cooked through.  Serve on top of cooked brown rice.

TOTAL:  $5.39 or $1.35 per serving.

Nutrition:

450 calories per serving

8 grams of fat

47 carbs (less if you have less rice…this is based on 1/4 cup serving size)

50 grams protein

2 grams fiber

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sarah #

    YUM! I’m totally making this. My girls will love it! Plus, I have zucchini about ready in my garden!

    June 22, 2011
  2. Ana #

    Jeremy loves stir-fry and I love the p.b. and soy sauce combo. I don’t happen to have any curry powder in my pantry (shame on me). Is there a substitute? Or can I leave it out?

    June 22, 2011
    • I can’t think of a substitute off hand so I’d just leave it out…or come over to my house. I’ve got tons of it. Seriously.

      June 22, 2011
      • Ana #

        I’m probably going to take you up on that the next time I see you since I just went to Henry’s today and forgot to grab some! On another note, is there a way to print just the recipe from your post(s)? I’m trying to get organized. 🙂

        June 27, 2011
  3. I made this last night and it was so yummy! I topped it with shredded carrots, cilantro and green onions and they really brought out the flavors. I think some shredded coconut would be good on it, too.

    June 24, 2011
    • Oh yum! I bet the added toppings were great! So glad you enjoyed it.
      K

      June 24, 2011
  4. Monica #

    You need to tell my how to keep my laptop free your ingredients since I use it almost every night now to make your recipes! Am making this one right now. If you get a chance, could you add somewhere the approximate prep time (including the marinading) outside of the recipe? I am relying on your weekly menus now, but sometimes am not looking the recipes until it’s dinner time, like, time-to-eat dinner time, and I need to use THAT ingredient for THAT recipe THAT night! Maybe I’d plan better if it were near the title somewhere. Or, maybe not. Just a thought.

    March 25, 2012
    • Thanks Monica! I’ll try to do that in the future – what a great idea! Thank you so much for the feedback.

      March 26, 2012
    • Erin W #

      That would be SO helpful. I was gonna make this tonight until I saw it needed to be marinaded for sometime. I love that most your recipes are done in about 30 minutes. No biggie thou it opened me up to another great recipe I wouldn’t have otherwise tried… I will be making this tomorrow night instead.

      March 30, 2012
      • Fabulous idea! I’ll try to remember to do that in future posts. Keep the feedback coming!

        March 30, 2012
  5. My family is allergic to peanuts (boo!). Do you think substituting almond butter for the peanut butter would do the recipe justice? Or, should I just scrap this one altogether, because we know how awesome peanuts blend together with soy sauce? :/ Thanks for all your love in putting these recipes together!!

    April 5, 2012
    • I would definitely give it a try. Bummer about the peanuts! If you do it let me know and I’ll make a note on the recipe for others.
      Thanks!!

      April 5, 2012
    • Ginny #

      My daughter is also allergic to peanuts and we subbed Trader Joe’s Sunflower Seed Butter- sooooo delicious.
      We use the SSButter for everything we’d use PB for- it’s a great alternative. I think it’s around $4.50 at TJ’s, which is a bit pricy for 1 little jar- but it’s worth it!

      July 10, 2012
      • Yum! I’ve never had sunflower seed butter but lately I’m hearing so much about it…will have to give it a try. Thanks!

        July 10, 2012
  6. mira yokoyama #

    i made this for tonight’s dinner. it was good and we made a little spicy dipping sauce (chili garlic sauce) i made a lettuce wrap for my low carb version but the boys ate it with rice. thank you.

    July 17, 2012
    • Great – thanks for the feedback!!

      July 17, 2012
  7. Tara #

    Was just thinking I wanted to make a stir fry this week when I got your blog. I’ll be trying this one. Thanks again for a practical recipe to serve my family.

    August 13, 2012
    • Hooray! Glad it worked out!

      August 13, 2012
      • Also, Tara…I forgot to mention on the post under Prep/Cook time that there are a couple hours of marinating involved. Want to make sure you plan accordingly! Thanks.

        August 13, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Feast #7: Honey Peanut Chicken With Brown Rice « 1Alive

Leave a Reply

