Skip to content

blackberry peach muffins.

I now accept requests.

That’s right…I received a request to put together a recipe for a nutritious berry and peach/apricot muffin, and it just so happened I had blackberries and peaches in my fridge this morning so here we go!

This recipe includes yogurt to keep the muffin moist without having to additional fats.  I used plain whole milk, but you could use nonfat greek yogurt too.

I included a generous amount of berries and chopped peaches – perfect for the summer and so tasty!

It helps to toss the fruit in a little flour before mixing together…this way the juices don’t run all over the batter.

I just wish the muffins, which were the incentive for Emma to make it through her entire swim lesson this morning without incident, had done their job.  She emphatically stated she didn’t like muffins (yeah right) and just wanted to go home rather than swim.

Tomorrow we might have to up the ante.

Enjoy!

Blackberry Peach Muffins

(18 muffins)

What You’ll Need:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 eggs

1 cup plain yogurt

1/2 cup sugar

6 tablespoons melted butter

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup diced peaches (apricots, nectarines work too)

1 cup halved blackberries (or blueberries, cherries, strawberries, etc)

cinnamon and turbinado sugar on top

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400.  Grease muffin tins or use muffin liners.

Mix flours, baking powder and cinnamon in a bowl.

Separately, mix together eggs, yogurt, sugar, butter and vanilla.  Add the wet mixture to the dry and mix just until combined.  Toss peaches and blackberries in a little flour to coat, then fold into the batter.  Divide batter among muffin cups.  Dust the tops with a little cinnamon and turbinado sugar.

Bake 15-17 minutes.

TOTAL:  $3.73 or about $.21 per muffin.

How do I figure these costs?  Take a look at my shopping spreadsheet to see what I pay for items, average costs per serving, etc and to figure out how to make all this frugal foodie stuff work for you.

Nutrition:

129 calories per serving

5 grams of fat

19 carbs

3 grams protein

1 gram of fiber

Did you make this recipe?!!  Tell me what you think on Facebook or post pics of your family enjoying them!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sarah #

    Mmmmmmmm! Can’t wait to try these! Thanks for taking on the challenge. I don’t have ANY whole milk yogurt in the house. Boooo.

    July 7, 2011
  2. These sound super yummy. This combination looks delish.

    July 7, 2011
  3. sarah #

    Oh my goodness. These were fantastic. I FINALLY got around to making them. I ended up using vanilla yogurt because I forgot to get my plain at TJs on Sunday. Anyway, I cut the sugar a tad and didn’t sprinkle any on the top because I was sure they’d be plenty sweet. They were DEEE-licious! Just the perfect amount of tart and sweet. I used blueberries and apricots that were waaaaaaaaaaaaay past their prime (the apricots, but not the blueberries). Didn’t seem to matter! Oh, so good. Thanks!

    July 26, 2011
    • Thanks Sarah! As my first recipe requester (that’s totally a word BTW), I’m glad you weren’t disappointed!
      K

      July 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

