Skip to content

roasted cauliflower.

Today I feel hungover.

Yes, you read that right.  Last night was a blur of Costco pizza and way too much ice cream cake…and a pinata.  Oh kid’s birthday parties.  I don’t even want to talk about all the calories – pure sugar and white flour and delicious dairy calories.  How embarrassing.  Have you ever had one of those nights?

And so today we talk roasted cauliflower.  This week I picked it up on sale for $.88/lb thinking, “heck, I’ve never experimented with cauliflower so I’ll give it a go.”  At $.88/lb I figured if I totally screwed it up, well it wasn’t a ginormous costly mistake.

But then when all was said and done I ate the entire bowl myself.  Whoops.

And by now you know my frugal cheesy tip – asiago as a replacement for Parmesan for everyday recipes!

And so here’s a post-birthday party, tasty little side dish that’s low-carb and full of flavor…perfect for a weeknight meal when you need to the oven to do the work for you.  25 minutes and you’re ready to go!

Roasted Cauliflower

(serves 4 – or 1 if you’re me)

What You’ll Need:

1 head cauliflower cut into florets

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup asiago cheese, grated

1 tablespoon minced italian parsley

salt and pepper

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 450.

Mix cauliflower, olive oil and garlic together and place in an oven proof pan.  Cook 25 minutes, stirring halfway through.

Toss with asiago cheese, parsley, salt and pepper and then serve immediately.

TOTAL:  $1.88 or about $.47 per serving.

How do I figure these costs?  Take a look at my shopping spreadsheet to see what I pay for items, average costs per serving, etc and to figure out how to make all this frugal foodie stuff work for you.

Nutrition:

102 calories per serving

7.5 grams of fat

9 carbs

3 grams protein

4 grams of fiber

Did you make this recipe?!!  Tell me what you think on Facebook or post pics of your family enjoying them!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow! That was great! I could have eaten that whole head of cauliflower by myself, but unfortunately I had to share with my husband.

    July 18, 2011
    • thanks Amber! Unlike you, I showed no restraint and ate the entire thing myself. Sigh.
      K

      July 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

