Skip to content

best sugar cookies.

I know, I know.  There are about a quadrillion sugar cookie recipes out there.  You’re probably thinking “BORING…you’ve seen one recipe, you’ve seen ’em all.”

But if I’ve earned any trust with you over the last 7 weeks that I’ve been doing this, I hope you’ll take my word when I tell you I’ve tried a ton of sugar cookie recipes…

This one takes the cookie (or cake).

They’re soft, buttery and melt in your mouth.

Also they cost about $1.50 to make, cheaper than any box of cookies you could buy at the store (unless you are shopping in the clearance section and I don’t advise that…you’d be a candidate for “super frugal foodie” status at that point).

This recipe is Emma-approved.  And believe me, this girl knows her stuff.

She can roll out a chilled disc of dough like it’s nobody’s business.

Best Sugar Cookies

from Allrecipes.com

(20 cookies)

What You’ll Need:

1/2 cup butter, softened

2/3 cup white sugar

1 egg

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1 2/3 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400.

In a large bowl cream together butter and sugar until smooth.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Stir in flour, baking powder and salt.

Cover and chill at least 1 hour.

Roll out dough to 1/4-1/2 inch thick.  Cut into desired shapes.  Place 1 inch apart on an ungreased baking sheet.

Bake 6-8 minutes.  Frost if desired (I go for a milk, butter, powdered sugar frosting…yum).

TOTAL:  $1.56  or about $.08 per cookie.

How do I figure these costs?  Take a look at my shopping spreadsheet to see what I pay for items, average costs per serving, etc and to figure out how to make all this frugal foodie stuff work for you.

Nutrition:

93 calories per serving

5 grams of fat

12 carbs

1 gram protein

Did you make this recipe?!!  Tell me what you think on Facebook.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great post thanks for sharing. Feel free to check out the recipe I posted also.

    July 22, 2011
  2. jen #

    just curious…. what does the cover and chill for 1 hour do to the cookies or taste….. do u know

    July 29, 2011
    • Hi Jen. I think it’s chemistry…the chilled dough it easier to roll out and cut and also it helps avoid a rubbery consistency in the cookies.
      Hope that helps!
      K

      July 29, 2011
  3. Angela #

    Lucy and I made them yesterday! Although once the flour was stirred in they seemed a bit dry. So I added a splash of milk! This could just be that I am at high altitude…? Bit they are great noT too rich or sweet!

    August 7, 2011
    • Yay!! So jealous – you get to enjoy them on the slopes!
      K

      August 7, 2011
  4. Making these for the 2nd time this week today! Yum!!

    August 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

