Skip to content

wine friday: genesis meritage red wine.

Got any fun weekend plans?

We’re helping my parents move out of the home they have lived in for nearly 13 years.  Not the house I grew up in, mind you, but one they bought when I went away to college and the one I have the most recent wonderful memories of.

And so in honor of their move I picked up this red blend at TJ’s…about $8, but one that’s a bit of a move up in the wine world considering most of the time I hang out around the $5-7 section.  We’ll enjoy it alongside one last delicious meal eaten al fresco in their Tuscan-inspired backyard and reminisce about all our favorite memories – engagement parties, 50th birthday parties, wedding rehearsals, Christmases, and on and on.  Ok, I’m getting a little sentimental.

For your consideration, Genesis Meritage Red Wine by Hogue Cellars:
I understand a blend like this pairs well with grilled steak or lamb.  I say find a great steak on sale and grill it up…but having splurged on the wine I’m not sure I’ll be going for the lamb (unless of course some rich uncle is footing the bill for that one).  Otherwise I’ll just take their word for it and daydream about someday winning the lottery and inviting my friends to come over and eat grilled lamb while sipping on Meritage wine.

$7.99 at Trader Joes.

Give it a try and let me know what you think!  Or pop on over to Facebook and share some of your favorite wine friday moments or pics!

Happy Friday!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Melissa #

    How sad, I hope you all can have a wonderful time and cherish all the wonderful memories that home has given you and your family. Melissa

    July 22, 2011
  2. When you find something that you like very much, of course you want to keep on exploring that specific taste. That is why so many people try sweet red wine once and then end up looking for an entire list of sweet red wines. The great news is that there are tons of options in this domain, ranging from a semi sweet red wine to dessert wines that really pack a strong and sweet punch.

    December 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

