Skip to content

2 months in and 10 things i’ve learned.

With my husband’s encouragement, I reluctantly hit the “Publish” button on FFF nearly 2 months ago.  I wasn’t quite sure what I was getting myself into, I just knew I had lots of recipes and budgeting ideas in my head and figured maybe they might possibly be helpful to one or two other people out there… so I went for it.

Here are 10 hodge-podgy things I’ve learned along the way…

1.  Greek or plain yogurt is a fabulous substitute for heavy cream, sour cream or half and half.  It has lots of protein and minimal fat, while keeping recipes creamy and full of flavor.

2.  The guys at Trader Joes love talking about their wines.  If you get them going or have a quick question, plan on having a good 5-10 minutes to follow them up and down the aisles as they share with you their 7 different recommendations.

3.  Our kids are watching…even when we don’t realize they are.  We’re their models, and they will often follow our lead.  Take a look at this shot of Emma, who I caught snapping a few pics of her fresh-from-the-oven granola (can’t you see it there in that red basket?!) just last week.  Seriously, this wasn’t staged.

4.  If you want to motivate yourself when it comes to cooking, start a food blog and tell your friends and family about it.  Nothing will motivate you faster.

5.  There’s nothing like sitting together, the entire family, for a meal.  It’s a connection point, perhaps the only one you may have with everyone all day.  In an era where we run from this to that, taking the time to sit down and share a meal together is vital to meaningful relationship.  And while we’ve generally always done this, the fact that I’m now cooking as much as I do means we do this nearly every night, and I’m loving it.

6.  You may be surprised by just how adventurous your kids may be when it comes to food.  Here’s my 1 year old Luke putting down his second slice of a caramelized leek quiche.  Say whaaaa?

7.  I’m not an exact, by the book kind of cook.  A little here, a little there…can I tell you just how hard that is when I know I have to write everything down and give a recipe with exact ingredients for others to use?  So if you try something and it doesn’t work out, just blame me…I’m lousy with exact measurements.

8.  I need to scrub my all-clad better.

9.  Adele is great cooking music.

10.  Wine Friday is, quite possibly, one of my best ideas ever.  Ok, maybe that’s an exaggeration.  I’m certain it is.  But it’s definitely become my favorite day of the week…and Andrew’s too.

Ok, so now it’s your turn.  Two months in, what do you think?  What’s been helpful?  Not helpful?  Is this working for you?  Input? Suggestions?

K

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Irene #

    Well…I’ve learned that, although i am not really a cook, reading about it, passing on the blog to friends that will try your recipes and let me sample them IS fun. Lots of gluten intolerant people in my family so those recipes are really helpful! Also, you manage to make food preparation funny and informative which is wonderful. I predict much success with your blog.

    Now on to food…my fiend is making your Mexican chopped salad for our dinner tonight…can’t wait!

    July 25, 2011
    • Thanks Irene for the feedback! Let me know how the chopped salad turns out!
      K

      July 25, 2011
  2. Cara #

    I found your blog through my cousin I think? I’m not even sure, but I love your point of view and your recipes. And you know what? If ever you feel like you are not up to cooking anything blog-worthy, I think many of us out there would feel comfort in hearing that. So don’t sweat it! Just have fun and take a break when you need it. Thanks for all the great recipes!

    July 26, 2011
  3. Ana #

    Beautiful post! As your friend I can say that I have loved hanging out with the frugalfoodie you through my computer. I have always been a fan of your cooking and am thrilled to have access to it through FFF. Aside from the fact that everything tastes DELICIOUS, my fav parts are the nutritional info and cost break downs. When I’m not feeling motivated to plan my meals for the week, I jump on and print four or five recipes and then make my grocery list. I know we’ll be eating well and within our budget and all I have to do is hit print! Keep up the great work! 🙂

    July 26, 2011
  4. Ana #

    PS-I ❤ Adele too!

    July 26, 2011
  5. Ha! That shot of Emma! Just yesterday my daughter picked up a rectangular cut piece of her French toast and started pretending to take pictures of the rest of the food on her plate. The kids definitely are watching and my blog is only part-time food and recipes. 😉

    July 26, 2011
  6. I have enjoyed all of the recipes so far! Thanks so much for doing this! I would love to see more make ahead recipes (casseroles, slow cooker, etc.). I like to make meals during my kids’ nap time, if possible. This might work well as the weather gets cooler this fall/winter.

    July 27, 2011
    • Hmmm…let me work on that. Don’t own a crockpot but I’m sure there are lots of recipes that are make ahead of time kind of recipes.
      Thanks for the suggestion!
      K

      July 27, 2011
  7. Kelly P. #

    I also have enjoyed reading all your posts and all your great pictures!! I’d love to hear your favorite meals “from a box”. I like having one thing in the freezer that I can make for dinner that is pretty much done for you (for us, this is the Orange Chicken from Costco). I’m always looking for suggestions from other moms to vary this item. 🙂

    July 27, 2011
    • Thanks Kelly for the feedback!
      I often keep pre-made TJ’s dough on hand for a quick pizza. Sometimes it’s just so much easier to pull something out of the freezer! I’ll see what some other readers do.
      K

      July 28, 2011
  8. Sarah #

    I have really enjoyed your blog! I love your step-by-step thoughts and pictures that go into each recipe. I feel like we get to know your personality as well as learn how to prepare great meals simultaneously.

    August 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

