Skip to content

chocolatey oreo wafers.

Don’t judge me.

I like the cookie part of the oreo better than the creme filling.

Can I still be an American?

I adapted these cookies from Smitten Kitchen, but made them with whole wheat flour and without the creme filling.  Check out her original recipe if you want to try them as creme-filled sandwiches.

They ended up a bit softer than oreo cookies, like if you left an open pack out on the counter a couple days.  But they were still great….so great that I decided to use them…

…to make a triple-decker ice cream sandwich with homemade Dark Cherry Chocolate Chip Ice Cream!

Stay tuned this week for that recipe and get ready to scream.

Chocolatey Oreo Wafers

adapted from Smitten Kitchen

(4-5 dozen)

What You’ll Need:

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

1 1/4 sticks room-temperature, unsalted butter

1 large egg

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375.

Mix together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and powder, salt, and sugar. Add the butter, and then the egg. Continue processing or mixing until dough comes together in a mass.

Take rounded teaspoons of batter and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet approximately two inches apart. With moistened hands, slightly flatten the dough. Bake for 9 minutes, rotating once so that the cookies bake evenly. Set baking sheets on a rack to cool.

TOTAL:  $2.11  or about $.04 per cookie.

How do I figure these costs?  Take a look at my shopping spreadsheet to see what I pay for items, average costs per serving, etc and to figure out how to make all this frugal foodie stuff work for you.

Nutrition:

53 calories per serving

3 grams of fat

7 carbs

.7 gram protein

Did you make this recipe?!!  Tell me what you think on Facebook.

Join the Community on Facebook

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sarah #

    Oh my goodness! I love chocolate! These look amazing! I can’t wait to try them and I love that I don’t have to go to the store to buy any ingredients. Thank you!

    August 1, 2011
  2. They look amazing. I’ve not had chocolate for way too long over a week! Maybe I’ll try these out.

    August 1, 2011
  3. Sarah #

    Your prettiest photo yet!! Love the aqua, the scattered chocolate chips, the white milk glass!! Beautiful, Kelly…and I can attest to the goodness of these considering that I took the leftovers to my house and didn’t share them with anyone in my family. 🙂

    August 1, 2011
  4. Angela #

    We made these for our Mommy and me group last week and they came out great! Mine actually came out pretty crispy! I didn’t adjust anything for the altitude (were at 8,000 ft) so I guess that’s the secret to getting them harder. Haha! They were a complete hit with our group. Our town is very health conscious and us Mommies really watch our kids sugar intake. But these seemed to be a huge hit! I have passed on your blog to the rest of the group because they all wanted to know where I got the recipe!

    August 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

