Skip to content

dark cherry chocolate chip ice cream.

Let me give you the cliff notes on this post…

My purpose in setting out to make homemade cherry ice cream was two fold:

1.  I wanted to make a scrumptious dessert using cherries (on sale this week for $1.99/lb…God bless you summer!) and…

2.  The first (publicly documented anyway) of many Frugal Foodie Family experiments – is it cheaper to make your own ice cream or buy it pre-made?

Oh those cherries.

They were the inspiration behind this recipe as I was searching for a frozen dessert last week when it was my turn to host Book Club.  Usually my Book Club meets at a local coffee shop where I inevitably feel way too Gap for the Toms Shoes-wearing, mustache-sporting, oh-so-cool crowd.  We’ve been taking a summer break from the hipster coffee joint and opting instead to discuss our book over wine and dessert in various jacuzzis around Orange County.  Last week we met at mine.

This ice cream was a hit, especially as I stuffed it between these homemade oreo cookies just to put the whole thing completely over the top.

The recipe itself is quite easy to make – just stir up the ingredients (this one has egg yolks in it and there is no cooking so make sure you buy pasteurized eggs), and toss in your ice cream maker.

In the end I figure the quart of ice cream I made cost a little under $7 (slightly more than I usually see for premium ice cream, Haagen-Daz, TJ’s, etc) and definitely more per serving than a 1/2 gallon of Dryers, Breyers, etc.

So lesson learned…homemade ice cream isn’t always cheaper BUT I know exactly what’s going in it AND it’s better than any similar flavor I’ve tried.

What about you – Do you prefer to make your own?  Buy from the store?

Any favorites I can turn into a Frugal Family recipe?

Dark Cherry Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

adapted from 101 Cookbook’s Batch Family recipe

(8 servings…about 4 cups total)

What You’ll Need:

1 1/2 cups sliced cherries (I used Bing)

2 cups heavy cream

2 cups whole milk

2 egg yolks

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup shaved or chopped dark chocolate

Instructions:

Whisk cream, milk, egg yolks, sugar and vanilla in a bowl until sugar is dissolved.  Add cherries and stir.  Chill mixture for 30 minutes in the freezer, then pour into ice cream maker canister.  Run machine until ice cream is soft, then add chocolate and continue running until desired consistency is reached.

TOTAL:  $6.76 or about $.85 per serving.

Nutrition:

227 calories per serving

10 grams of fat

32 carbs

5 grams protein

2 grams fiber

Did you make this recipe?!!  Tell me what you think on Facebook.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I got the ice cream attachment for my KitchenAid mixer at Christmas and I have yet to use it. I don’t know what is wrong with me when there are yummy recipes like this out there to be made.

    August 4, 2011
  2. This recipe is perfect!!! I’m in love with chocolate cherry flavors.

    August 22, 2011
  3. This looks lovely! My last attempt at dark chocolate cherry was, to put it mildly, disastrous. 🙂

    August 24, 2011
  4. Carol #

    Looks very yummy!
    Where do you get pasteurized eggs?

    August 19, 2012
    • Oh yes, the raw egg stuff…I think you can get pasteurized eggs at Sprouts or Trader Joes, definitely Whole Foods. Enjoy!!

      August 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

