Skip to content

extra credit: grow your own lemon tree.

I’ll be the first to admit I don’t have a green thumb.  What’s the opposite of green?  Well whatever it is, that’s the color of my thumb when it comes to gardening and nurturing a plant, bush or flower.  I can nurture a roasted chicken till the cows come home but don’t ask me to keep plants alive for too long.  I’m working on it. Recently I inherited several potted plants from my parents and they asked repeatedly, “you’ll get the plants on a drip system?”  Hint hint.

Really, I’m working on it.

And so here’s a little extra credit we’ll both work on together – growing our own lemon trees…and keeping them alive!  A lemon tree may cost $20 or so, a little more if you decide to pot it, but considering lemons may cost you $.50-.75 depending on where you buy them, I think the initial investment coupled with a little sweat equity and maybe a daily reminder to water them (as is my case), will be well worth it!

Do you grow your own citrus, herbs or vegetables?  Do you find it saves you some cashola?  Do tell…

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. We have a Meyer lemon tree and we just got a Behr’s lime. We use a lot of lemons and limes. Our next door neighbor has a Meyer lemon as well that bears better than ours — we get lemons from her when our tree has few.

    August 24, 2011
    • Oh Meyer lemons…my absolute favorite! I wish we had them all year – you’ll just have to get to know your neighbor well (and bake her something fabulous in return for her generosity!). Thanks for the feedback.
      k

      August 24, 2011
  2. I like your idea! I love fresh lemons, but hate the cost, and often (I hate to admit) will use the fake stuff instead. I’m interested in knowing how I’d be able to do this in an extremely small house during wicked winters without a greenhouse….

    August 24, 2011
    • How silly of me. We live in So Cal so we’re a bit spoiled here. Well until global climate change allows you to grow your own (ha ha), I’d go with the fake stuff too.
      Thanks for your feedback!!
      K

      August 24, 2011
  3. Tara Sibert #

    Yes! We grow our own lemons & peaches (we were fortunate enough to move into a home that had them already planted!) we pulled all the peaches from the tree, canned some & cut, pitted & froze the rest. I make smoothies(with the frozen) & baby food with the canned! It’s been so convenient& resourceful!!

    I’ve been wanting to let you know, I made the maucho salad for a dinner guest, using tri-tip instead of chicken. She told me, (after I had already committed to making it& there was no turning back!) that it was her fave salad. I was nervous knowing alot to live up to…she said it was amazing & tasted just like Banderas! She is a really sweet person, so I’m sure she exaggerated a little. However, I thought it was awesome!! Thx for the recipe!

    August 24, 2011
    • Yay!!! They did the work for you before you moved in! How fabulous!
      And I’m so glad your guest enjoyed the salad – it’s a favorite around our house too (and when we splurge and go out). Hope all is well!
      K

      August 24, 2011
  4. I really want a lemon tree! I don’t know how it would grow in Kansas though…..but it looks awesome and I LOVE lemons!

    August 25, 2011
  5. I’ve had a sad little dwarf Meyer Lemon in a pot my back yard for a couple years now. I was told that it’d do great in the desert (I’m in Las Vegas) but I’m barely able to keep it alive. I have to keep it under an umbrella to keep the sun from burning it, and I can’t figure out how much water it really wants. I hope your yard is more hospitable!

    September 4, 2011
    • I water our lemon tree a LOT, especially these days since it’s been hot. Good luck!
      K

      September 4, 2011
  6. I love lemons, I use them a lot to make lemonade for my daughter. I think I’m going to try to grow one from seed. We’ll see how it goes…

    September 4, 2011
    • I’d love to hear how that goes! Keep me posted.
      Kelly

      September 5, 2011

Leave a Reply

