Skip to content

strawberry, feta and toasted almond salad.

Whenever we’re invited anywhere, I mean to a friend’s house for dinner or some occasion where we are requested to bring part of the meal, it’s inevitable that I’m asked to bring dessert or salad.

I’m the dessert and salad girl.

Seems kind of funny now that I think about it, kind of ironic since the two are on such opposite ends of the culinary spectrum.  But there are reasons for this title…

1.  I love to bake.  Somehow I’ve developed this reputation, so people feel comfortable that I’ll feel comfortable bringing some cake, cookie, tart or other sinful dessert to their shin-dig.

2.  I have an easy, frugal secret for great salads.  Shhhh…I’m about to share it with you.

Cheese.

Fruit.

Nuts.

Did I just totally rock your world?

I’ll use just about any combination of these three to make a mean salad – goat, feta, asiago, or gorgonzola cheeses…apples, pear, berries, dried cranberries…toasted walnuts, almonds, pecans, pistachios.

It’s like a magical salad trifecta.

And the dressing.

It’s as easy as can be, and making it yourself will save you tons.  Olive oil, balsamic vinegar, a little honey, salt and pepper.  That’s your foundation, and if you’re in the mood you can toss in some herbs, garlic, maybe a little dijon.

The best part is you’ll likely typically have these ingredients already in your fridge or pantry.  Toss ’em all together for a killer salad, and soon YOU’LL become the salad guy/girl.

Strawberry, Feta and Toasted Almond Salad

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

Dressing

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1 teaspoon honey

salt and pepper

optional add-ins – fresh herbs, minced garlic, or dijon mustard

Salad

3 cups chopped romaine or green leaf lettuce

8-10 strawberries, sliced

1/4 cup toasted almonds

1/4 cup crumbled feta

Instructions

Prepare the dressing by combining all ingredients in a mason jar with a lid, shaking vigorously.  Alternatively, you could combine in a blender.

Toss all salad ingredients together in a serving bowl.  Dress with balsamic vinaigrette.  Top with fresh cracked pepper if desired.

TOTAL:  $3.50 or $.88 per serving.

What’s up with this total and cost per serving?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc. and to figure out how to make this work for you.

Nutrition:

139 calories per serving

12 grams of fat

6 carbs

3 grams protein

2 grams fiber

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi,

    I’m loving your blog! I’m also a food lover, though frugality isn’t a very strong suite of mine. I tend to want to eat whatever tastes the best, regardless of the cost. I guess that’s because I’m only 18–not a mother of two children like you–and don’t have to look after a family: my mom does all of that stuff. But I love watching her cooking and I am always interested in what dinner is and how she made it. I’m also slowly am gaining a better sense of frugality. Anyway… all your recipes look delicious, especially the prosciutto and caramelized onion pizza–I will definitely ask my mom to make it! Thanks for your blog!

    Tatsuro

    P.S. Please check out my blog @ trailertravelinawheelchair.wordpress.com.

    September 6, 2011
    • Thanks Tatsuro! What a great blog you have! My husband is from Washington as well – Whidbey Island – and we were just up there last week! What fun you must have had traveling cross country. Well thanks for stopping by and enjoy the pizza!
      K

      September 6, 2011
  2. Must try, must eat!

    September 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

