Skip to content

wine friday: charles shaw sauvignon blanc.

Now before you dismiss this wine right off the bat I’ll have you know that I know people who keep both Silver Oak and Charles Shaw in their wine cellars.  That’s right – $75 bottles of wine right next to Two Buck Chuck.

The Charles Shaw wines from Trader Joe’s are sold at $2 or $3 a bottle because the winemaker purchases from the overabundance of California grapes.  You might notice subtle differences between bottles of the same wine – this is because they are using whatever grapes are available to them at the time.  I’ve even heard some people will purchase a bottle, give it a try in the parking lot, then go back for a case if that particular bottle is good.  Geesh.  That’s commitment.

But for everyday drinking (not that I drink everyday mind you), but you know what I mean…this Sauvignon Blanc is fantastic for $1.99 a bottle (or $2.99 if you’re in certain states) at Trader Joe’s.

Sauvignon Blanc is a great white wine for pairing with fish, shellfish, pork or chicken and goat cheese (no wonder I like it!).

What about you?  Are you a Two Buck Chuck drinker?  I’d love to hear your thoughts on Charles Shaw wines.

Happy Friday!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for the recommendation. I don’t drink that often, but I like sauvignon blanc and I like to use white wine in cooking. They always say if you won’t drink it don’t cook with it. Cheers! — Sharyn

    September 23, 2011
  2. Blkbeaute #

    I’m a big fan of 2 buck chuck and Trader Joe’s! I’ve discovered a lot of wines during in-store tastings.

    September 30, 2011
    • Me too! I hesitated posting Charles Shaw but I think it’s great for $2, especially for everyday drinking. And in-store tastings…just found out about these!!
      K

      September 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

