Skip to content

fabulously frugal entertaining: 4-course dinner for 4 for $20 (wine included!)

If I had endless amounts of money I think I might throw a dinner party every night.  I can picture it now…”oh yes, we picked up this Brunello last month in Montepulciano” or “just popped into Dean and Deluca and got this 25 year old aged balsamic vinegar.”

In my dreams.

If you’re like me, you love to entertain but may feel it can be, well, a bust on the budget.  Can you relate?  Especially these days when there seems to be no good news on the financial front. Well It got me thinking – how can we entertain well and eat deliciously while still staying on a budget?

And so here we go…a four course dinner for 4 for $20.

The Starter:  Garlicky Tomato Basil Bruschetta.

The Salad:  Strawberry, Feta and Toasted Almond Salad.

The Main Event: Sausage, Tomato and Spinach Risotto.

The Sweet:  Lemon Nutmeg Shortbread with Lemony Icing.

The Vino:  Spiral Wines Cabernet.

Total Cost:  $20.17.

Yes, you read that right.  That’s about $5 buckaroos per person.  I’m not sure you can eat at McDonalds for that price.  So pick up the phone, grab your calendar, call your friends or family and invite them guilt-free to a sweet dinner party of your own!

Happy Entertaining!

K

P.S. – Have any additional thoughts or tips for entertaining on a budget?  Do tell…

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow, what a great blog! I tend to read your blog for ideas for everyday, but when I put several of your recipes together with a great bottle of wine, some romantic candles and my French Cafe Pandora station, it becomes something special. At these prices, I can have dinner parties every weekend, I know I’m your mom and all, but I love what I am learning from YOU.

    September 28, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Frugal Entertaining: Hosting a Party on a Budget | frugalcommunity

Leave a Reply

