Skip to content

mexican chicken and rice bake.

It’s 5 o’clock.

Your kids are screaming.

The phone is ringing.

Your toddler is eating dirt he found in the indoor plant you thought would be perfect for the house, before you had small children.

Good thing you made this chicken and rice dish ahead of time!  Just pre-heat your oven, pop it in and dinner is on the table in 30 minutes.  It’s great for the kids, perfect for leftovers, and an excellent way to sneak in a few vegetables into your meal.

I’ve had a lot of readers ask about crock-pot recipes or dinners that are easy to make ahead of time and pop in the oven to get dinner ready lickity-split.  Hope you enjoy this one!

Mexican Chicken and Rice Bake

(serves 4-6)

What You’ll Need:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, pre-cooked and shredded

4 cups pre-cooked brown rice

3/4 cup corn

1 15 ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup plain yogurt (or you can substitute sour cream)

1/4 cup chopped green onions

1 4 ounce can green chilis

1/2 cup chunky salsa

1 cup grated cheddar or monterey jack cheeses

salt and pepper

cilantro for garnish

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except for cilantro and mix thoroughly to combine. Make sure the yogurt and cheese is stirred completely. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to an oven-safe dish and top with extra cheese if you would like. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until heated through.

Garnish with chopped cilantro.

TOTAL:  $8.70 or $2.18 per serving, based on 4 servings.  But you’ll likely end up with leftovers – hooray!

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

553 calories per serving

16 grams of fat

61 carbs

41 grams protein

8 grams fiber

Did you give this recipe a try?  Pop on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amber #

    Thanks Kelly! I can’t wait to try this recipe. I usually have all of these ingredients in my pantry so that’s an added bonus. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    September 29, 2011
  2. These look awesome and so so simple! Really healthy too, great stuff yet again!

    September 29, 2011
  3. We enjoyed this recipe. Great combination of healthy ingredients. I used about 1.5 cups of salsa. I’m eagerly awaiting your next “bake” recipe.

    October 28, 2011
  4. alex #

    This is my new favorite recipe! I made it the night before friends came over, popped it in the oven when they arrived and EVERYONE loved it! Easy, healthy and yummy! What a great meal to take to someone who’s just had surgery or a new baby. Thanks!

    January 19, 2012
    • YAY!!! I actually brought it to a friend who had just had a baby when I made it the first time. SO glad it was a hit!!
      K

      January 19, 2012
  5. Katy #

    Hi Kelly! I plan on taking this to a friend who has a newborn! I think they’ll love it. I have a stupid question… should the chicken breasts be pre-cooked as well?

    April 16, 2012
    • Great idea to bring to a friend! Yes, you’ll want to pre-cook the chicken. I’ve updated the recipe too to reflect that. Thanks!

      April 16, 2012
      • Katy #

        Awesome! Thank you. I’m really excited about it… might make two… one for me and one for my friend. 🙂

        April 16, 2012
  6. Nancy Mock #

    I have tried two of your recipes this week, and this Mexican Chicken and Rice Bake was for dinner last night. The entire 9×13 pan was devoured! Keep up the great work!

    June 26, 2012
    • Yay – thanks for give them a try! I’m so glad they didn’t disappoint.

      June 26, 2012
  7. Marie Walti #

    I made this last night after the kids went to bed and packed it in their lunches this morning. (Please note that I modified half of the casserole dish to remove any spiciness because my kids are sensitive to that. They are 2 1/2 and 14 mos old) I piled on the salsa and chiles on the “adult” side of the casserole. I’m eating it for lunch too…Yum yum! And I got a text from my son’s (14 mos) daycare provider and she said he mowed through the seving (which is amazing because he is such a picky eater and more typically goes on the floor than in his mouth). Nothing makes a momma happier than knowing her kids are well fed! The daycare provider asked if she could have the recipe because it smelled and looked good. I have printed it for her and given your blog address.
    I love this recipe – it is easy, quick and has some good substance with the chicken, brown rice, black beans and corn. Thank you – thank you!

    July 31, 2012
    • Thanks Marie! It’s always so fun to hear when my recipes are a hit with the kids. So glad you all enjoyed it!

      July 31, 2012
  8. bookmarked – thank you – sounds delicious

    September 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

