Skip to content

wine friday: nerelo del bastardo.

This latest red was recommended by my new friend Jeff at our local Trader Joe’s, when I asked him for a good Italian wine.  He passionately explained that Italian wine laws only allow a certain amount of wine to be used after aging in order to have a limited number of government issued neck labels.  When these run out, the excess may only be sold as table wine even though the wine itself is the same.

And so we have Nerelo Del Bastardo, made from the “leftover” wine but still quite tasty.  This one was a 2007.

The label includes a recommendation for pairing it with “game, red meats, pasta, cheese or even on its own.”

$6.99 at Trader Joe’s.

Give it a try and let me know what you think!  Or pop on over to Facebook and share some of your favorite wine friday moments or pics!

Happy Friday!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Interesting..

    September 30, 2011
  2. Fernando Suarez #

    Wine: Nerelo del Bastardo IGT. Grapes: Bastardo (40 percent), sangiovese (30 percent), syrah (30 percent) Region: Puglia, South Italy. Vintage: Nonvintage

    March 31, 2012
  3. Toni #

    One of my favs; I usually buy a few bottles at a time and although I think the 2007 was a better year, the 08 is very good too for the price. Hard to believe it’s only $8 bucks a bottle. I always recommend this wine and do my best to have it on hand for every event.

    July 22, 2012
  4. Aly #

    Trader Joe’s is no longer able to get this wine. It’s been my favorite for the last 3-4 years. I would love to have a recommendation for something that matches the full bodied flavor. I just drank my last bottle earlier this week. So sad. 😦

    October 20, 2012
    • What a bummer! It was such a great wine.
      I really enjoy the Cocobon Red Blend, Genesis Meritage, Grifone Primitivo, Hillgate Zin, and Wild Horse Pinot…all available at TJs and mostly around $6-8, with the exception of the Wild Horse.
      Let me know if you find any other good substitutes!

      October 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

