Skip to content

brown butter and sage acorn squash.

This recipe is my tribute to Fall.  Well, I might be saying that a lot in the upcoming month…

Ever roasted an acorn squash?

You might be thinking “squash?  yuck.”

Not when you top it with butter, brown sugar and fresh sage, my friend.  Just trust me.

Doesn’t look so glamorous now but just you wait…

Here’s the fresh sage from my garden – I grew it myself!! 

After roasting the squash once, brush with a brown sugar/butter paste and top with fresh sage.  Then back in the oven it goes to get all gooey and caramelized.

You might be tempted to lick the bottom of the dish.  I know I was – er, did.

Happy Fall!

Brown Butter and Sage Acorn Squash

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1 whole acorn squash, cut into 8 wedges

1 tablespoon olive oil

sea salt

4 tablespoons butter, softened

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons minced fresh sage

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Split squash in half and scoop out the seeds with a spoon.  Cut each half into 4 wedges and place all 8 wedges in an ovenproof baking dish.  Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt to taste.  Bake for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine butter and brown sugar to make a paste.  Once squash has baked, remove from oven, brush with the butter paste and sprinkle with fresh sage.  Place back in the oven another 30 minutes, spooning the melted butter on top of the squash wedges several times while cooking.  After 30 minutes squash will become brown and caramelized – yum.

TOTAL:  $1.95 or $.49 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

246 calories per serving

15 grams of fat

30 carbs

1 gram protein

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Fantastic. I can’t wait to try a different variety of squash. This looks like a really great idea and a really great recipe.

    October 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

