Skip to content

cinnamon sugar pumpkin scones.

I can tell you with great certainty that this recipe makes for some wonderfully crisp, not too sweet pumpkin scones.

Why, you might ask?

Because I made several batches, just to make sure I got it right….that’s why.

And please don’t judge me for not including a glaze of some sort on top – the glaze just makes it too over-the-top sweet for my taste.The first batch I made had too much baking powder and pumpkin in it for my liking, making the dough really moist and the finished scone more like a muffin.  I thought it could be called something like a scuffin.

My family all agreed…so did my neighbors…if it was going to be a scone recipe, it needed some help.

So I went back to work, making a few adjustments.

Did you know that part of the key to a really great scone is super cold butter?

And the wet ingredients – just the right amount of pumpkin, egg and some milk (or cream or half and half).

Form the dough into two discs about an inch thick, slice up and bake to glorious autumn perfection.

Ok, I just have to point out here that compared to a scone you might find, say, at a local coffeehouse…this has far fewer calories and fat, plus you’ll end up with over a dozen for the price of just one elsewhere!Oh pumpkin season, how I love thee.

Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Scones

(makes 16 scones)

What You’ll Need:

2 cups flour

1/3 cup sugar

3/4 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground nutmeg

¼ teaspoon ground ginger

6 tablespoons cold butter

½ cup canned pumpkin

3 tablespoons whole milk  (cream or half and half will work nicely too)

1 large egg

3 tablespoons sugar (turbinado would be great here if possible)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 425F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger in a large bowl. Use a pastry cutter or fork to cut the butter into the dry ingredients until mixture is crumbly.  Don’t overmix!

In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, milk (or cream, half and half) and egg. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients (again, don’t overmix!), and form the dough into 2 discs. Pat out dough onto a lightly floured surface and form it into 2 circles, each about 1 inch thick.   Use a large knife or a pizza cutter to slice the dough to make 8 scones per circle.  Place on prepared baking sheet and top with cinnamon sugar. Bake for 15 minutes, or until light brown. Place on a rack to cool.

TOTAL:  $3.85 or $.24 per scone.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

120 calories per serving

5 grams of fat

17 carbs

2 grams protein

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. These scones look really good! As one might expect coming from you! Though I don’t understand how they are so different from my scones even though the recipes are fairly similar… perhaps I’ve missed an ingredient difference or something.

    October 16, 2011
  2. Thanks for posting this scone recipe! Yesterday one of my sugar pumpkins and a few butternut squashes went under the knife for various recipes. (It started out with my craving for a Pumpkin Spice Latte.) So now these scones are next in line. I appreciated the scone tips too. Mine always turn out too muffin-like. ~Shelly

    October 16, 2011
  3. I will DEFINITELY be giving this recipe a try!
    -bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

    October 16, 2011
    • Thanks! Would love to hear what you think.
      K

      October 16, 2011
  4. Mmmmm. Yummy. These look amazing. Maybe I’ll have to make them for Jill’s birthday in a couple weeks. You know… for Jill.

    October 16, 2011
  5. Allie #

    if i didn’t already have pumpkin coffee cake in the oven, i would SO be making these scones this morning!! yum!!

    October 16, 2011
    • Hi Allie!! I’ve got leftover pumpkin…coffee cake it is!
      K

      October 16, 2011
  6. Ruth #

    Even I can do this one….love pumpkin and cannot wait to try it for the gals in my Bible Study group.

    October 16, 2011
  7. sarah #

    this is nearly identical to the Starbucks pumpkin scone recipe I use. They are amazing! I have your scones in the oven baking and I cannot wait to try one in 3 minutes.

    October 19, 2011
    • What did you think? I really like Starbucks’ scones but don’t care for the glaze. I thought these tasted close, but a little less sweet.

      October 20, 2011
      • sarah #

        They were delicious! I loved them without the glaze and I didn’t feel so guilty eating 3.

        October 27, 2011
      • Hah! I know what you mean…we had to march our batch straight to our neighbors or I would have eaten them all…
        K

        October 27, 2011
  8. Amber #

    I want to try this recipe … looks yummy! How strong is the pumpkin flavor? Sometimes when I make recipes with pumpkin I am disappointed that I can barely taste the pumpkin.

    October 10, 2012
    • I had tried one batch that were super pumpkin-y so I went with this batch that were less so. I’d say the pumpkin flavor is, medium? If you like a lot of pumpkin I’d bump up the canned pumpkin just a bit.

      October 11, 2012
  9. Yum! I love scones, and these look perfect. I love that you didn’t put a glaze on top. Sometimes scones are perfect just the way they are.

    October 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

