Skip to content

kitchen sink granola.

I know what you’re thinking.

Really?  Another granola recipe?  Aren’t there about a quadrillion granola recipes out there? 

And the answer is yes.  It seems every cookbook or food blog out there includes at least 1 favorite granola recipe.

Well this is mine…Actually, technically it’s not mine…it’s my Mama’s…and yes I still call her that.  But I’m glad to finally have it written down so I don’t have to bug her for the recipe yet again.

The best part about it (and part of the reason I had such a hard time remembering the recipe) is that it’s one of these ‘throw in some oats and your favorite nuts, add some wet ingredients and then toss in some dried fruit’ kinds of recipes, leaving a lot of room for personal adaptation depending on your nut, fruit or sweetness preference.

Well this granola is for those of you who prefer the not-so-sweet, not-so-clumpy, hearty kind of granola.  And if that’s not you, well you’ve got plenty of other good recipes to choose from in the culinary kingdom.

After mixing up your dry ingredients like oats, flax seed and nuts, combine with your wet ingredients – honey, oil, water and vanilla.

Bake in the oven, mixing once or twice during cooking.

Then add your favorite dried fruits.

I’m a big fan of apricots and cranberries.Throw on top of yogurt or milk, or just enjoy as a snack.

Enjoy!

Kitchen Sink Granola

(makes 5.5 cups)

What You’ll Need:

4 cups old-fashioned oats

1/4 cup flax seed

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts, almonds, pecans, pepitas, cashews, hazelnuts, etc)

1/4 cup canola oil

1/4 cup honey

2 tablespoons water

2 teaspoons vanilla

3/4 cup dried fruit (raisins, cranberries, apricots, cherries, coconut, apples, bananas, figs, etc)

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Separately, mix wet ingredients.

Add to dry ingredients and toss until combined.

Pour onto a baking sheet and place in oven for 25-30 minutes until fragrant and golden brown, turning granola every 10 minutes  with a large spatula.

After removing from the oven, stir in your favorite dried fruits.

TOTAL:  $4.30 or $.39 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

253 calories per serving

11 grams of fat

36 carbs

6 grams protein

5 grams fiber

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. You have that spatula too! I have it :). I really need to come up with my own granola recipe – this one looks great. I don’t think I’ll have truly arrived on the blogging scene until I’ve done my own.

    October 18, 2011
  2. Your pumpkin scones inspired me to add a bit of Fall to my granola this week, Kelly! I added pumpkin pie spice before putting it in the oven, and used cinnamon glazed almonds in the recipe (add them after cooking since they are already roasted). I loved the flavor! Your fans might want to try it.
    Mama

    October 18, 2011
  3. Must. make. granola. soon!

    October 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

