Skip to content

sausage, white bean and spinach soup.

It seems appropriate now that we’re entering Fall that we start cooking more soup.

Except here’s the million dollar question:  Why can’t we get kids to eat soup?  I’m not kidding…I wouldn’t even scold my kids for slurping the soup if they’d just try it every now and then.  But they have no interest.

Oh well…more soup for Andrew and me.

Today’s soup:  Sausage, White Bean and Spinach.  It’s hearty, it’s nutritious, it’s good.

As you’ve probably noticed by now, I often cook with chicken or turkey sausage…and typically I’ll buy it when it’s $2.99/lb.

You can’t go wrong sauteing onions and garlic in oil…unless of course you stick your elbow in the pan.

Don’t do that.


I like cannellini beans which are kind of like a white kidney bean, but you could also use northern beans as well.

Just before serving, add the spinach and give the soup a swirl…

Welcome, Fall.

Sausage, White Bean and Spinach Soup

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 pound Italian sausage (I prefer turkey or chicken around $2.99/lb)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes, optional
4 cups chicken stock
1 15-ounce can of white beans, drained or 2 cups cooked beans if you make them from scratch
1 teaspoon oregano
1 bunch spinach, chopped
salt and pepper

Instructions

Heat olive oil in a large pot.  Add sausage and cook until no longer pink.  Set sausage aside on a plate.  Add another tablespoon of oil to the same pan, then add the onion and saute about 5-7 minutes until soft.  Add garlic and red chili pepper flakes and cook 1 more minute.  Add back in the sausage, beans and oregano and cook 2-3 minutes.  Add the stock and simmer for 20 minutes.  Finally, add the spinach and simmer until the spinach wilts.  Season with salt and pepper.

TOTAL:  $5.58 or $1.40 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

268 calories per serving

11 grams of fat

29 carbs

18 grams protein

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. I made this for dinner tonight. We thought it was tasty. I loved that there was little prep as far as chopping veggies, etc. Will definitely make again!

    November 2, 2011
    • What an honor from a fellow foodie family!
      K

      November 2, 2011
  2. meghan #

    i’m going to make this for supper swap next week. 🙂 do you have any non-bread side dish ideas???

    November 3, 2011
  3. My husband made this recipe just as soon as he saw your blog for the first time. He is a foodie, so I’m sure we will be making more of your suggestions and following your blog! Side note on kids hating soup – I’m that 30yr. old kid who has the potential to hate soup and I loved it & my 9 month old loved a little of the bean/broth! Thank you!

    January 17, 2012
    • Kim that makes me so over-the-top excited! Hope the rest of the recipes you try don’t disappoint!
      K

      January 17, 2012
  4. Karen #

    Kelly I can’t wait to try this. I’m thinking of making it tomorrow since I have all of the ingredients on hand! I bought baby spinach for my Greek Orzo Salad that I made on Monday, I’ve had 2 spinach salads for lunch this week with mushrooms, bacon, hb egg and croutons and now I have just enough spinach left in the bag to make this delicious sounding soup!! YaY Me! Thanks YoU!

    April 19, 2012
    • Thanks Karen! Welcome welcome! I hope you enjoy and let me know if you have any feedback or insight to share.

      April 19, 2012
  5. Kate Tousley #

    I made this last night and it was so tasty! I used kale instead of spinich and my family ate it up. Thanks for the easy and yummy recipe!

    August 22, 2012
    • Thanks Kate! Surely you have AC…;)

      August 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

