Skip to content

pork medallions with cherry zinfandel sauce.

The other white meat.

I’m not exactly sure why but all my life I’ve had this bias against pork.  I abhor hot dogs.  We only buy turkey bacon.  I’m not a big fan of cured meats (with the exception of the occasional pancetta or prosciutto which in my mind are somehow far more sophisticated).

But lately I’ve been wondering if I can really call myself a Foodie and not enjoy other meats like Pork Belly, for instance.  (sidenote:  What’s the deal with Pork Belly?  It seems to be all the rage these days among gastropubs and the foodies and bloggers that frequent them).  I still haven’t been able to bring myself to try it.  Foodie card revoked?

Well anyway, in an effort to expand my culinary world I bought a tenderloin when it was on sale this week for $1.97/lb.   So here we go…my second time making pork.  This time with a cherry red wine sauce.

I might get into this pork thing.

Did you know that, ounce for ounce, pork tenderloin has less fat than chicken breast?

Saute up these sliced medallions of tenderloin for several minutes per side, then set aside.

Cook up your cherry/red wine mixture until it reduces to a kind of syrupy sauce.

Then pour your sauce over the medallions and serve!  You may even have your family fooled that you served them chicken or turkey.  I know I did 🙂

Pork Medallions with Cherry Zinfandel Sauce

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1 cup zinfandel or other red wine
1/3 cup dried cherries
1 1/2 tablespoons raspberry or blackberry jam
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 1/2 pounds pork tenderloin
salt and pepper
1 tablespoon butter

Instructions

Combine first 4 ingredients.

Heat oil in a large skillet over low heat for 2 minutes. Cut the pork crosswise into 12 pieces. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Place pork in pan and cook 3-4 minutes on each side or until golden. It’s ok if the medallions are a little pink!  If you cook too long they will end up chewy.

Remove  from pan. Stir in wine mixture, scraping the pan.  Turn heat to high and bring to a boil. Cook until reduced to 1/2 cup – about 3 minutes. Remove from heat. Whisk in the butter. Serve sauce over pork.

TOTAL:  $4.99 or $1.22 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

269 calories per serving

8 grams of fat

13 carbs

24 grams protein

Go on – give it a try!  Then mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very beautiful and it looks delicious as well. Nice blog!

    October 28, 2011
  2. Great recipe! I do enjoy pork and I know what you mean about people eating more pork belly these days. Fact is, it’s a cheap cut that is very easy to cook. Plus it has lots of fat that makes it flavourful. That’s why I’ve bought it in the past…that and the crackling! 🙂

    October 28, 2011
  3. That sauce looks great. I did a red wine sauce with plums but I never thought of trying cherries. Nice pics!

    October 28, 2011
    • plums would be great too! or cranberries, maybe figs?
      K

      October 28, 2011
  4. Very nice indeed foodie! Sounds like such a yummy dish.

    October 28, 2011
    • so my foodie card isn’t revoked? yippee!
      K

      October 28, 2011
  5. Thanks for the pork recipe. Looks delicious!

    October 28, 2011
  6. Kelly, love your blog. Your mom sent it to me. You will have to check out mine. Julie

    October 30, 2011
  7. I too am a bit confused with the pork belly trend happening as of late. I may muster up the guts to try it one of these days, just have to find the right tempting ingredients to go with it! The pork medallions look wonderful, I love the cherry sauce!

    October 31, 2011
  8. Jen #

    Loved the sauce, but I don’t think I liked my pork. Too thick and it was chewy. Dropped the butternut squash on the floor as it came out of the oven, so I opened up a can of corn. Not my night in the kitchen!

    April 18, 2012
    • Jen, after that kind of night I’m impressed you took the time to leave a comment! I’d be sitting with my feet up on the couch drinking a glass of wine. Sorry about the pork! Sometimes it can get chewy if overcooked so I’ll make sure to include a note on that. And the butternut squash – what a bummer! Here’s hoping another night of FFF recipes goes better. I’m honored you went for these 2 recipes!

      April 18, 2012
  9. Royce Robbins #

    This is now on the menu for this coming week but with cranberries instead. With respect to pork belly, it is one of the most flavourful cuts of meat and is incidentally used in a lot of deli salami cuts due to it’s fat content and ability to enhance flavour profiles.

    April 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

