Skip to content

african chicken peanut soup.

I spend a lot of time cooking with a three and a half year old.

So you can imagine how over-the-moon I was when my friend had the brilliant idea that we cook a birthday dinner together to honor, well, us….we both have November birthdays.

I think cooking together is one of the best ways to connect, for me anyway.  It’s the stirring, talking, chopping, can you hand me the olive oil, here’s what’s on my mind, sip a little wine kind of get together that you just can’t do at a Starbucks.  It’s hands on, creating something together kind of connection that’s recreational, therapeutic and life giving.

So on this occasion we tried an African Peanut Soup among several other amazing dishes, and we all agreed the combination of flavors was unreal.  I’ll admit…it wasn’t totally a hit with the kids.  But I’m sure yours have a more refined palate than mine…

Saute up your chicken thighs – we used boneless skinless and often I’ll buy them when I can find them for $1.99/lb.

Add a bunch of garlic and ginger.  And did you know you can freeze extra ginger so it doesn’t spoil?

Let your ingredients simmer together for about an hour and a half so the sweet potatoes get soft and the chicken becomes easily shredable (that’s a word, right?).

Doesn’t my friend have the most beautiful dishes?  And don’t even get me started on her gigantic farmhouse dining table…

Top with cilantro and enjoy!

African Chicken Peanut Soup

(serves 6-8, adapted from Simply Recipes)

What You’ll Need:

2 pounds boneless skinless chicken thighs

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 large onion, sliced

3 tablespoons ginger, peeled and minced

6 garlic cloves, chopped roughly

2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks

1 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes

4 cups chicken stock

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup roasted peanuts

1 tablespoon ground coriander

1 teaspoon cayenne, or to taste

salt and black pepper

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Instructions

Heat the oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Pat the chicken thighs dry, salt and pepper and brown them in the oil (about 5 minutes per side).  Set the chicken pieces aside once they are cooked.  Then sauté the onions in the same pot for 3-4 minutes, stirring often. Add the ginger and garlic and sauté another 2 minutes.  Finally add the sweet potatoes and stir to combine.

Add the chicken, chicken broth, tomatoes, peanut butter, peanuts, coriander and cayenne and stir to combine. Simmer and taste for salt, adding more if needed. Cover the pot and simmer gently for about 90 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are tender.

Remove the chicken pieces and shred, then add back to the soup.

Season as necessary, adding more salt, pepper or cayenne to taste.

Garnish with cilantro.

TOTAL:  $11.80 or $1.48 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

535 calories per serving

25 grams of fat

29 carbs

31 grams protein

Go on – give it a try!  Then mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Renée #

    Kelly, you’re right — this soup was super tasty! I had such a great time cooking with you and feel a renewed zest for creativity in the kitchen. Thanks for cooking with me!

    November 7, 2011
  2. I wonder if I could make this in my crock pot sounds wonderful!

    November 8, 2011
    • I’m sure you could! I’ve never cooked with a crock pot but if you’ve slowcooked soups in the past I’m sure you could be successful with this recipe! Let me know how it goes.
      K

      November 8, 2011
  3. I love every version of this soup I have ever had — I’m sure I would love yours, too. Kids don’t know everything… (especially when it comes to food).

    November 14, 2011
  4. I’m going to try this one for sure. I like anything w/ peanut butter. Looks healthy too.

    November 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

