Skip to content

gorgonzola stuffed dates with prosciutto.

4 ingredients…

…wrapped up…

…and baked into heavenly sweet/salty/cheesy goodness.

Gorgonzola Stuffed Dates with Prosciutto

(yields 24 pieces)

What You’ll Need:

24 pitted dates, sliced down the middle (found on sale for $2.99/lb)

24 small pieces of gorgonzola (about 3/4 cup)

8 pieces of prosciutto, sliced

paprika

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425F.

Insert one piece of cheese into each pre-sliced date.  You may have to just squish the cheese in, especially if it’s crumbly.

Sprinkle prosciutto with paprika and slice each piece of prosciutto into 3 pieces.

Wrap each date with a slice of prosciutto, with paprika side toward the date.  Insert a toothpick into the date to secure it.

Bake 8-10 minutes, or until prosciutto is sizzling.  Enjoy immediately…at room temperature they got a little dry.

TOTAL:  $6.50 or $.27 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

56 calories per date

2 grams of fat

7 carbs

3 grams protein

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. I really like it…I am definitely going to try it..thanks

    November 10, 2011
  2. susan #

    That looks delish! I’m definitely going to have to make these scrumptious morsels. BTW, your food photography is terrific. I can see you’ve got your mom and dad’s creative talents.

    November 11, 2011
  3. Ana #

    These are SO good! I have some leftover prosciutto and gorgonzola from another recipe and I may just have to pick up dates (the fruit that is) the next time I’m out. I will also be serving them as our Thanksgiving warm-up. Thanks!

    November 11, 2011
  4. Oh yummy, what a wonderful idea. A great variation on pigs in blankets for Christmas!

    November 11, 2011
  5. How simple yet fantastic. Love it. Definately will try this over Christmas!

    November 14, 2011
  6. Julie #

    I have a recipe for a variation on this. Instead of prosciutto, you top it with a walnut. Also very good. I’m sure that the prosciutto is heavenly though.

    January 30, 2012
    • Walnuts – what a fabulous idea! I’ll have to give that a try next time…

      January 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

