Skip to content

peanut butter s’mores pastries.

Hang onto your hat.  It’s going to be a bumpy ride.

Well, maybe not bumpy.  More like crazy, over the top, decadent.

We’re talking chocolatey, peanut buttery, marshmallowy goodness all tucked into puff pastry.

Oh my.

Here’s all that yummy stuff, layered inside puff pastry.  I used dark chocolate because that’s how I roll…you can use whatever kind you like.

Seal up the edges and brush a little egg wash over the top.  This makes for a flaky, golden outer edge.

Then pipe on the marshmallow fluffy-stuff on top.

Looking at this picture makes me want another one.  Except that I forced them onto my friends and family to get them out of the house.  Shoot.  Well hopefully you have more discipline than I…

Peanut Butter S’mores Pastries

(12 pastries, adapted from Recipegirl.com)

What You’ll Need:

1 box (2 sheets) puff pastry, thawed

3 sheets graham crackers, broken into fourths

12 small dark chocolate bars

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 egg beaten with 1 teaspoon water (for wash)

1/2 cup marshmallow fluff

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400F.  Place parchment paper or non-stick spray on a baking sheet.

Lay out the thawed puff pastry onto a cutting board.  Cut each sheet into thirds, then cut each piece in half for a total of 6 rectangles per full sheet.  You may want to roll out the puff pastry slightly to have enough room for all the fillings.

To assemble the pastries, place graham cracker, chocolate and finally 1 tablespoon of peanut butter on one side of each piece of puff pastry.  Wet the edges of the puff pastry and fold in half.  Push the edges together gently, then use a fork to seal the edges together.  Continue with the rest of the pastries.

Place the pockets on the prepared baking sheet and brush each pastry with the egg wash.  Use a knife to cut two slits on the top of each pastry.

Bake 15 minutes, or until pastries are golden and have puffed up.  Remove from the oven.  Place the marshmallow fluff in a zip lock bag and microwave for 8 seconds.  Cut a corner of the bag and pipe the marshmallow on top of the pastries.  Enjoy immediately (although they are great at room temperature too).

TOTAL:  $8.68 or $.72 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

357 calories per serving

25 grams of fat

27 carbs

8 grams protein

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. carol #

    Wow – that looks incredible, as well as incredibly simple.
    Thanks!!

    November 14, 2011
  2. I’m in charge of the non-pumpkin dessert for Thanksgiving and these look so fun! Are they good room temp rather than right out of the oven?

    November 14, 2011
    • They’re best fresh out of the oven – gooey and warm…but are still great at room temp. They’d be great for Thanksgiving!
      K

      November 14, 2011
  3. Ana #

    I’ll attest to the fact these are delish at room temp! And can I just say that picture is killing me! If only I had puff pastry in my freezer… But it’s probably best I save this recipe for an occasion outside my home… like you I have little self-discipline when it comes to chocolatey peanut buttery goodness!

    November 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

