Skip to content

grandma’s granola bars.

Here’s a snack Emma and Mama Kitty whipped up for you.  Actually, as you can see, Mama Kitty was a total slacker, leaving all the mixing to Emma.

They are Grandma’s granola bars, and they’re as easy as can be.  We’ve done some exploring with oats previously, baking up some oatmeal, toasting this granola that is really just a blank canvas for whatever ingredients are laying around in your pantry, and now these bars.

What I love about oats is that they are so versatile – between oatmeal, crisps, granola, bars…we go through them like I blow through Peppermint Jo Jo’s at Christmas time (is it just me or are they over-the-top addicting?).

And oats are cheap!  Typically $.99/lb and most recently I bought them for $.69/lb on sale in bulk.

And since these bars are made with whole wheat flour, I felt less guilty tossing on some chocolate chips after pulling them out of the oven.  I should probably knock that off…

Bottomline: These bars ended up being $.21 per serving.  I’m fairly certain that’s less than you can find them at the store for, and since they’re homemade you can feel good knowing exactly what’s in them.  Also, I think you’ll kids will love ’em.

Grandma’s Granola Bars

(makes 16 bars)

What You’ll Need:

2 cups oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup raisins, optional

1/2 cup honey

1 egg, beaten

1/2 cup canola oil

2 teaspoons vanilla

1/3 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 baking pan.

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, salt and raisins, if desired. Add the honey, egg, oil and vanilla.  Mix together using a fork.  Pour the mixture into the pan and pat it down evenly.

Bake for about 30 minutes, until the bars start to golden on the sides. Pull from the oven and sprinkle chocolate chips on top, if desired.  They’ll get a little gooey.  Cool for 5 minutes, then cut them into bars while still warm. Do not allow them to cool completely before cutting or they will be hard and crumbly when you cut them.

TOTAL:  $3.38 or $.21 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

190 calories per serving

7 grams of fat

27 carbs

3 grams protein

1 gram fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. cookingsomethingsimple #

    These sound delicious and I can’t wait to try them out 🙂

    December 2, 2011
  2. Do these stay pretty chewy? I need to make my own granola bars more often. The store bought kind (aside from being expensive!) are just candy bars in disguise. I just happen to have all those ingredients on hand… 🙂

    December 2, 2011
    • I absolutely agree about the store bought ones. These are pretty chewy but get kind of crumbly after a couple days. We ate ours within a day or two…emma’s friends came over so before I knew it they were history. Let me know what you think!

      December 2, 2011
  3. Sarah #

    My daughter and I made these last night and had them for breakfast! They are delicious! I’ve been wanting to make homemade granola bars, so this was perfect. Thanks for the delicious recipe 🙂

    December 2, 2011
    • Sarah I’m SO glad you liked them – and even enjoyed them for breakfast! The question is, did you abstain from chocolate chips (as I did not)?

      December 3, 2011
  4. cookingsomethingsimple #

    I made these for myself and my roommates and I have to say that these are by far a lot healthier and and taste better than the store bought brands. It’s a definite keeper for my recipe index.

    December 5, 2011
    • I agree – thanks!! Doesn’t it feel so good to know exactly what you’re eating too?
      K

      December 6, 2011
      • cookingsomethingsimple #

        Absolutely! 🙂 No preservatives, or additives and their cheap to make and taste awesome :).

        December 6, 2011
  5. Amber #

    Love them!! I used walnuts instead of raisins. Next time I will add flax too.

    Do you think I could sub applesauce for any of the oil or honey, or will it not bind together well enough?

    December 8, 2011
    • In my experience applesauce hasn’t worked…I’ve tried to cut the sugar and fat but it doesn’t bind it. If you find a good substitute let me know!
      K

      December 8, 2011
  6. These looks great! I make granola bars almost every Sunday for us to have as an easy breakfast/mid-morning snack all week. I’ve never gone back to store bought!

    December 14, 2011
  7. Meagan #

    Making these as I write, and they smell delicious. I substituted agave for the honey, just b/c it’s what I had on hand :] going to sprinkle sugar free chocolate chips on top…it’s not as bad then right??? haha. Loved that I had everything on hand to make these. So simple!

    February 15, 2012
    • Hooray! So glad you’ve made the recipe work for you! Hope they tasted fabulous too!

      February 15, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Home Made Granola Bars « Kitchen Adventures

Leave a Reply

