Skip to content

wine friday: panilonco carmenere.

Let’s take a trip down South together, shall we?

I’m talking really South like…Chile.

Did you know Chile is the fifth largest exporter of wines in the world, thanks in part to the French who brought Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot vines as well as the Carmenere grape from Bordeaux, France.  Carmenere wines are best opened and consumed while they are young (hence this 2010 recommendation).  Oh and wait until you see how much I paid for it…

For your consideration:  Panilonco Carmenere  2010

With hints of blackberries and mint, the spicy flavors of this tasty red pair well with Italian cuisine and spicy dishes.  You can’t go wrong serving it with a tasty Holiday meal!

$3.99 at Trader Joes.

Happy Friday!

Send me your Wine Friday favorite moments!  Find me on Facebook or Twitter.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jolie Hultner #

    One my favorite cheap wines!! Shhh, don’t tell my boss how much it is, it was her Christmas present last year!

    December 7, 2011
    • LOVE it! I had never thought of giving it as a Christmas gift!
      K

      December 8, 2011
  2. pop #

    I bought this at Trader Joe’s at $3.99. I didn’t expect much but this wine is much better than other $8.99 bottles.

    March 11, 2012
    • Yippee!! Did you find it here or already know about it?

      March 11, 2012
  3. Mickey #

    I picked up a bottle of the 2011 today at TJs. Same price. Quite good — an excellent pizza wine.

    April 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

