Skip to content

brown butter balsamic brussel sprouts.

Brown Butter Balsamic Brussel Sprouts. 

Say that 10 times fast.

Give up?

My husband wouldn’t typically touch a brussel sprout with a ten foot pole.

But I’m telling you I made these sprouts and he was popping them like McDonald’s french fries.  No joke.

It might have had something to do with the butter gloriously browned to foamy perfection.

Or the addition of shallots, garlic and balsamic vinegar…these brussels become wonderfully soft, caramelized brown butter beauties.

…topped with homemade bread crumbs.

Is signing off “they may change your life” too strong?

They may totally rock your world.

Brown Butter Balsamic Brussel Sprouts

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

3/4 cup bread crumbs (I used day-old french bread)

1 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano or thyme

3 tablespoons olive oil, divided

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 pound brussel sprouts, washed and trimmed

salt and pepper

2 tablespoons minced shallots

2 cloves minced garlic

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

3/4-1 cup chicken broth

Instructions

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Make the Breadcrumbs:  In a bowl, mix bread crumbs and herbs with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and spread on a cookie sheet. Toast, tossing frequently, until they are golden brown, 10 to 12 minutes.

Make the Sprouts:  Heat butter and 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat until golden brown and foamy. Add brussels sprouts, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and sauté, stirring occasionally, until sprouts are well browned and slightly soft, about 20-25 minutes. Reduce heat, add shallots and garlic, and sauté until fragrant, about 2 minutes.

Increase heat to high, add balsamic vinegar and stock, and cook, tossing frequently, until sprouts are glazed and tender, about 20 minutes; add more stock if needed.  Add more salt and pepper if needed. Top with toasted bread crumbs.

TOTAL:  $3.35 or $.84 per serving.  This was based on finding sprouts on sale for $.99/lb.  Cost may increase when you aren’t preparing them in November or December.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

312 calories per serving

19 grams of fat

26 carbs

8 grams protein

5 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yummy! I don’t usually “dig” sprouts… but this looks great. I may try my own sprout recipe now, see if I can kindle a love for them. Very inspirational 😀

    December 13, 2011
    • Now that sprouts are on my radar I’m open to experimenting with new recipes. Let me know if you try a new recipe!
      K

      December 13, 2011
  2. Unlike your husband, I already like Brussels sprouts. These sound lovely.

    December 13, 2011
  3. I usually don’t eat Brussels sprouts but these look really good.

    December 13, 2011
    • I know, right? Seriously delish.

      December 13, 2011
  4. Mandy #

    I made these for a few friends for dinner last week, and they both said they have never liked sprouts, but they each had seconds of these! They are delicious! I decided to cut out the bread crumbs due to time, but they were still delicious!!!

    January 2, 2012
    • Yay!! Same at our place – Andrew doesn’t usually do sprouts but couldn’t stop eating these. So glad they were a hit!

      January 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

