Skip to content

bacon and egg pizza.

Christmas is over.

I’m not sure whether to sigh or squeal with delight…at least as far as calories go.

For us (well me, and I kind of drag Andrew along), the end of the holiday season means a total detox plan to get back to our pre-holiday weight. For instance today my diet consisted of coffee, eggs, pinto beans and apples with peanut butter.

Okay, except for this pizza.

Lately I’ve been totally inspired by pizza.  First, it was a celebratory dinner at my new favorite restaurant Mozza where we ate so many amazing dishes I was in dairy heaven.  Please don’t go there if you’re lactose-intolerant.  I beg you.

Then, a late night dinner at a local pizzeria Ecco, where I was inspired by a marscapone, bacon and pear pizza.  So here is a new go-to that is a new favorite in our house:  the breakfast pizza.

Cheese, bacon, egg and herbs.

Seriously.

Delish.

Cracking the eggs over the top of the pizza while simultaneously taking a shot is quite challenging.  Here’s my first attempt at the one-hand egg breaking effort.

But who cares how it turns out as long as there isn’t any egg shell on your pizza.

Oh this pizza is heavenly.

Just in case you needed a closer-up look at this divine pie.

Breakfast Pizza

(serves 6)

What You’ll Need:

1 pizza dough (I use Trader Joes Wheat Dough), uncooked

1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded

1/2 cup asiago cheese, shredded

1/2 cup chopped, pre-cooked bacon (I use turkey bacon, but both kinds are excellent)

5 large eggs

2 tablespoons chopped green onions

2 tablespoons chopped italian parsley

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Roll out pizza dough on a lightly floured surface.  Top dough with cheeses, then chopped bacon.  Crack eggs on top.

Bake 10-12 minutes in the oven until egg yolks are over medium and not too runny (unless you like them runny, and if so reduce cooking temperature by 2-3 minutes).

Once out of the oven, top with green onions and parsley.  Serve immediately.

TOTAL:  $6.60 or $1.10 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

362 calories per serving (this is based on real bacon…calories and fat would be lower using turkey bacon)

17 grams of fat

33 carbs

21 grams protein

3 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wyndi #

    I am dying to try this! We’ve been on (or I should say I) a homemade pizza kick. This sounds SO good. I tried making my own dough, and it was good, but slightly time consuming. I haven’t tried the fun TJs dough. You have such great ideas!!! 🙂

    March 6, 2012
    • I’m not kidding when my husband first heard we were having this pizza he made a face I often see on my 4 year old when I serve her broccoli. But we’ve all decided it’s a new favorite…and one that you probably have the ingredients for. Hope you enjoy it!

      March 6, 2012
  2. Karen #

    Sounds WONDERFUL! I can’t wait to try it this weekend. I “Pinned” it on Pinterest

    April 19, 2012
  3. That looks fantabulous!! I have got to try that.

    May 24, 2012
    • It’s love at first bite, I’ll warn you 🙂

      May 24, 2012
  4. DreadPirateRogers #

    I’ll forgive your use of pre-bought dough for your knowledge that turkey bacon isn’t real bacon.

    Just found your blog, and am pretty impressed. Several recipes here I plan on making.

    August 4, 2012
    • Great – thanks! I do hope to make me own dough some day…have any recipes??

      August 6, 2012
  5. Okay, I’m making this for a girlfriend coming for brunch this weekend…this is a stupid question I’m sure, but is the bacon intended to be raw or cooked when chopped and put on the pizza? [sheepish shrug] Guide me, oh epicurean one!

    October 21, 2012
    • Pre-cooked and chopped. Thanks for catching that! I’ll make a note. LOVE that you’re making this.

      October 21, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. List #16: Ten Ways with Eggs « Down-Home South Jersey

Leave a Reply

