Skip to content

your favorite recipes from 2011.

2011 was a pretty good year.  I would have liked a little more sleep but I suppose beggars can’t be choosers.  2011 was the year I began this crazy food blog adventure.

Well 120 posts later…we’re about to close up shop on 2011.

Which reminds me, have we talked about how I’m super nerdy when it comes to numbers and tracking things?  Take, for instance, my incessant need to budget or the fact that I’m sort of a calorie-counting Daily Burn power user.  It’s really borderline unhealthy, I know.  It’s just how I roll.

So now that I’ve let you into my OCD world it should come as no surprise that I’ve put together a list of the most popular posts of 2011.  I was curious, and it was something else to track so…well, you get the picture.

Drumroll please…the recipes you were most interested in this year:

prosciutto and caramelized onion pizza – this post is a bit of a shoe-in since it was a WordPress Freshly Pressed featured post.  But nevermind that, the pizza is still a favorite in our house and I know it will be in yours too.

bandera’s macho salad – an amazing salad from a favorite local restaurant.  It’s chalk full of dates, goat cheese, roasted chicken, cornbread croutons and avocado.  I tried to get all frugal on this salad, with highs and lows as you will see.

mini s’mores tarts – a top recipe and the favorite dessert at Luke’s first birthday party.  I nearly ran out of them at the party, which was quite a feat considering I made about 150.
crab mac and cheese – now this was a total surprise to me considering my whole vibe is so frugal but you all seem to like splurging sometimes on crab, like sticking it in this homemade mac and cheese.  Check out the pictures of my in law’s amazing view of the Puget Sound too.

cottage cheese pancakes – one of the reasons I started blogging about food…to have at my fingertips high-quality and low-cost recipes I always go back to, including this family favorite that nearly every overnight guest at our home has enjoyed.

So thanks for joining me this year and for all the fun comments and feedback!

Stay tuned in 2012 for more frugal and (generally) nutritious recipes, giveaways, restaurant recommendations, total kitchen mishaps and more tips to save some dough while still eating fabulously.

Kelly

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rebecca Harrison #

    Ok, I’m adding these recipes to try out in 2012…they are so mouth watering

    Happy New Year to you and your family…keep the foodie coming!

    December 30, 2011
    • Thank you Rebecca for the feedback! Happy New Year to you too!
      K

      December 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

