Skip to content

quinoa salad with mango and avocado.

Quinoa.

The name alone sounds healthy and exotic.  Then toss in some mango, avocado and cilantro and we’ve got a full-on flavor party.

I realize I’m not going to convince everyone to give quinoa a try but this nutty grain is packed with fiber and protein and you just feel down-right healthy eating it.  I might even still feel good about it smothered in hot fudge.  Ok, maybe not…

What I do like about quinoa as a frugal foodie is that it is hearty enough to base a meal around, diverse so you can add all sorts of flavors to it, and it costs far less than most sources of protein.  It makes me think I may try sneaking in a few more vegetarian dishes this year (don’t tell my husband).

Quinoa is kinda like rice and kinda like couscous.  It cooks up like rice where you let it boil, then turn it down low to simmer…but cooks really fast like couscous.

Then you add in your toppings – avocado, mango, tomato, cilantro and green onions.

Finally, toss with a light lime-olive oil-cumin dressing and you’re on your way to health and wellness (or at least you’ll feel good about having that scoop of ice cream for dessert :).

Quinoa Salad with Mango and Avocado

(Serves 4 as a main dish, 6-8 as a side)

What You’ll Need:

1 cup quinoa

2 cups water

1 avocado, chopped into 1/2 inch pieces

1 mango, chopped into 1/2 inch pieces

1 large tomato, chopped into 1/2 inch pieces

1/3 cup cilantro, chopped

3 green onions, chopped

juice of 2 limes

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon cumin

salt and pepper

Instructions

Place quinoa and water in a covered medium saucepan and set over medium heat.  Bring to a boil for 1 minute, then turn heat down to low and simmer, covered, for 20 minutes.  Toss with a fork and bring to room temperature.

Once cool, toss quinoa, avocado, mango, tomato, cilantro and green onion in a medium bowl.  Separately, whisk together lime juice, olive oil, cumin, salt and pepper.  Toss together with the salad.  Taste for seasoning and add more salt and pepper as needed.

Serve cold or at room temperature.

TOTAL:  $4.62 or $1.16 per serving based on 4 servings (even less if you serve it as a side).

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

305 calories per serving

13 grams of fat

41 carbs

8 grams protein

8 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cara #

    This looks delicious! I will definitely give it a try. I make a big pot of quinoa all the time and eat off it all week. So versatile and so easy.

    January 6, 2012
  2. I love quinoa and Kevin likes it too. Will definitely try this recipe. Do you think I could use lemons instead of limes? I have a bunch of ripe lemons that I need to use. For some reason most of my recipes that call for lemons are spring or summer kind of recipes.

    January 6, 2012
    • I think I would stick to the limes. They compliment the cilantro and avocado well. Let me know if you try lemons how it goes!

      January 10, 2012
  3. Jen #

    This is an amazing recipe. I actually used couscous instead of quinoa. Flavors were bursting. One of the best things I have made in a long time. Thank you!

    March 7, 2012
    • hip hip hooray! So glad you liked it and I bet the couscous was fantastic!! If you ever snap a shot, or have any other insight or ideas let me know!

      March 7, 2012
  4. Stumbled across your blog somehow. Made this for dinner tonight. YUM! I seeded the tomatoes, and served the chopped avocado on the side, because I want some for leftovers tomorrow and didn’t want it to get mushy. For a little more protein, I crumbled some feta on top. This is a great recipe!! Thank you.

    July 16, 2012
  5. Janet Peters #

    Not able to print the receipe – only first page with picture.

    July 22, 2012
    • My apologies Janet! I’m working on upgrading the printing capabilities to make it easier to print.

      July 22, 2012
  6. Katherine H #

    We LOVE quinoa (I’m gf from medical reasons) and honestly all of the other ingredients, but I have a kiddo that’s allergic to mango :(… is there another fruit (tropical or not) you would recommend in this salad?

    July 30, 2012
    • Hm…so sad your kiddo is allergic to mango! Maybe papaya? Or you could try pineapple? Or go more savory with black beans.

      July 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

