Skip to content

lemon curd bars.

My mother came over this week and asked where all the butter went to…so let me tell you a story:Once upon a time I inherited a Meyer lemon tree.

We watered it and gave it some of our coffee grounds and sunlight and citrus food and not only did it not die…

…it produced these beautiful lemons!

We didn’t kill it!

So we celebrated and decided that, when life hands us lemons, we would make lemon curd bars.

So if you’re lucky enough to get your hands on some Meyer lemons, pull out your zester and give them a squeeze and make these over-the-top sweet and tart and buttery lemon curd bars.

You can get back to your 2012 diet tomorrow 🙂

Lemon Curd Bars

(Adapted from Joy of Cooking – makes 18 bars)

What You’ll Need:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup powdered sugar

1 1/2 sticks cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces

6 eggs

2 1/2 cups sugar

zest of 1 lemon

1 cup fresh lemon juice (4-5 lemons)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Instructions

Preheat oven to 325F.

In a large bowl mix together the flour and powdered sugar.  Sprinkle the butter pieces over the top and, using a pastry blender or your fingers (as I did), cut in the butter until the mixture is the size of small peas.

Press the mixture into the bottom of a 13×9 inch pan and 3/4 inch up the sides to avoid any leaking during baking.

Bake until golden brown, about 25-30 minutes.  See aside to cook, then reduce the oven to 300F.

Separately, whisk together the eggs and sugar until well combined.  Stir in the lemon zest and juice.  Sift the flour over the top and stir in until well blended.  Pour the batter over the baked crust and bake until set, about 35-40 minutes.  Remove the pan and cook completely before cutting into bars.

TOTAL:  $3.01 (if you grow your own or butter up a friend who grows her own lemons) or $.17 per serving.  Otherwise pick up a few lemons at the store and the total would be $4.99 or $.28 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

253 calories per bar

9 grams of fat

30 carbs

3 grams protein

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. They are beautiful. I really should get myself one of those. I made lemon curd before Christmas – it was utterly delicious.

    January 12, 2012
    • I could put lemon curd on a whole lot of things…it’s quite dangerous 🙂

      January 13, 2012
  2. I love lemon bars, Kelly, and we grow Meyer lemons, too. I’m always wanting to figure out how to make a less rich but tasty bottom layer, something not so thick.

    January 13, 2012
    • Sharyn, I think maybe reducing the overall amount of crust would help. But me, I love the crust.
      Don’t you just love Meyer lemons?!

      January 13, 2012
      • I love every kind of lemon, the tart Eurekas and the sweet Meyer lemons.

        January 13, 2012
  3. They look heavenly!

    January 15, 2012
  4. Jennie Korb #

    I made this yesterday from fresh lemons I brought back from California a couple of weeks ago. This is spectacular with the lemons and real butter!!! Thanks. Jennie

    January 15, 2012
    • Lemons+butter=heaven. Thanks!
      K

      January 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

