Skip to content

shrimp, papaya and avocado salad.

“What’s a shrimp,” asked my curious 3 year old today as I was peeling and deveining the 3/4 pound of shrimp I found on sale this week for $4.99/lb.

“Well, it’s kind of a little sea creature that lives at the bottom of the ocean” I explained, hoping the conversation would end there.

“What are you doing to them?”…eek!….She went on.  “Do you want me to eat those?”

“I’m peeling and deveining them for our salad tonight and yes, I’d like you to at least try one.” (we’re working on this new rule that our kids at least give my gourmet-ish food a try before snubbing their noses in my general direction).

“I’d rather eat a cupcake” was Emma’s response.

“You’re 3.  What do you know anyway?”

“I know I like cupcakes.”

Can’t really argue with that.  She’s a girl who knows what she likes.

Maybe someday it will include shrimp.

Shrimp, Papaya and Avocado Salad

(adapted from Creme de Colorado Cookbook – serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

For the marinade:

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons white wine

2 teaspoons lemon juice

2 tablespoons chopped onion

3/4 pound shrimp, cooked, peeled and deveined

1 bunch spinach, rinsed and stemmed

1 papaya, peeled, halved, seeded and sliced lengthwise

1 avocado, peeled, seeded and chopped in medium pieces

1/4 cup toasted almonds or walnuts

For the dressing:

2 green onions, sliced

2 tablespoons honey

1/4 cup lime juice

3 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper

Instructions

Combine the marinade ingredients.  Marinate shrimp, refrigerated, for at least 1 hour.

Mix all dressing ingredients in blender or food processor.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Chill.

Remove shrimp from marinade and toss with spinach, papaya, avocado and nuts.  Drizzle dressing on top and serve.

TOTAL:  $10.25 or $2.56 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

415 calories per serving

25 grams of fat

27 carbs

23 grams protein

8 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. And we are supposed to believe salad is low fat! Isn’t it great to throw out the rules and live in the wild side every now and then?

    January 19, 2012
    • Well the good news the fat mostly comes from olive oil, avocado and nuts – good fats! And can you believe I halved the amount of oil?!!

      January 19, 2012
  2. This looks so clean and fresh. Yum! Olive oil is always good in my book – I drink the stuff.

    January 19, 2012
    • Thanks frugalfeeding! It was super tasty and light (even though the fat is high…but I figure olive oil is good fat, right?).
      k

      January 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

