Skip to content

rainy day roundup.

If it’s cold or rainy or snowy in your kitchen – and I’ll bet chances are good you’re experiencing some kind of weather since we’re smack dab in the middle of winter – I’ve put together this little roundup of delicious dishes to warm your day while still keeping some coinage in your wallet.

So here we go…

Red Lentil Soup with Lemon from 101 Cookbooks.  Simple, warm and nutritious.


Croque Monsieur Ham and Cheese Sandwich from Simply Recipes.  Is it just me or is a hot cheesy sandwich hard to say no to when it’s dreary outside?  I might use Swiss instead of Gruyere since it’s a little less per pound.


Crustless Spinach and Mushroom Quiche from Joy the Baker.  Yum.  A great breakfast or brunch dish, minus the crust but still dang good.  And check out that beautiful plate!



Apple Pear Crisp from My Baking Addiction.  Warm, fruity comfort food.  Twist my arm why don’t you…


Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate from Sweet Savory Life.  Try making your own when it’s too wet outside to head to your local coffee shop.

What about you?  What’s your favorite dish when it’s cold outside?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Anything that uses the oven – it warms up my house and fills my belly! I just made a broccoli and cheese quiche last night, which I enjoyed for breakfast this morning as well. I think anything with warm, melted cheese does the trick for me. I’m enjoying your blog. I’m glad WordPress recommended you to me!

    January 23, 2012
    • Hooray for quiche! Love it for breakfast, lunch, dinner…you name it.
      Thanks for the feedback!!

      January 23, 2012
  2. Soup! So I make soup pretty much 10 months out of the year here in Seattle. 🙂

    January 24, 2012
    • Don’t you just love soup? If I lived in Seattle I’d be making it 10 months out of the year too. Good thing there are so many great recipes out there!

      January 24, 2012
  3. Wyndi #

    Oh my goodness!! That Apple Crisp just makes me happy looking at it! I am TOTALLY trying that this week! Great website! What a terrific recommendation!

    January 24, 2012
    • I know, right? A new favorite!

      January 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

