Skip to content

cashew chicken curry.

First off, I’ll keep it real and give you a glimpse at how I get any cooking, photographing, cleaning, well really ANYTHING done in the kitchen…

my favorite part is Luke’s hand reaching for I have no idea what, probably a sharp knife, in the utensil drawer.

Welcome to my world.

It’s no wonder, staring at this picture of my children running shop on my kitchen, that we had 4 dish casualties in the kitchen this week.  Ugh.  When I ran blissfully through Pottery Barn with my registry scanner 7 years ago I wish someone would have reminded me that some day I’d share my kitchen with a helpful 3 year old and a curious 18 month old toddler.  I think it’s God’s way of reminding me to release my white-knuckled grip on my stuff.

Wait, is this a cooking blog or my little corner of cyber world to serve as a replacement for counseling?

Cashew chicken curry…got it.

Ok, I’m focused.

When you want to enjoy something a little different, more nutritious than takeout, and fairly easy to throw together, may I humbly suggest this flavorful cashew chicken curry.  You likely have most of the ingredients already in your kitchen…well maybe except the cashews.  But you can toss the cashews in this granola too so look for them at the bulk section of the store next time you’re out and about.

Here are the onions, garlic, ginger, chicken, tomatoes, spices and cilantro simmering together.

Looking (and smelling) good…

Before serving add cashews and yogurt to thicken up the curry.

Serve over rice, top with a few extra cashews and cilantro and enjoy!

Cashew Chicken Curry

(adapted from Epicurious.com – serves 4)

What You’ll Need

2 tablespoons butter
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 tablespoon chopped peeled fresh ginger
3 tablespoons curry powder
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
2 (4-6 ounce) chicken breasts, cubed
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 cup cashews
3/4 cup plain yogurt (I prefer Greek yogurt)

Instruction:

Heat butter in a large pot over moderate heat until melted, then cook onions, garlic, and ginger, stirring, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add curry powder, salt, cumin, and cayenne and cook, stirring, 2 minutes. Add chicken and cook, stirring to coat, 3 minutes. Add tomatoes, with their juice, and cilantro and bring to a simmer, then cover and simmer gently, stirring occasionally, until chicken is cooked through, about 15 minutes.

Just before serving, add cashews and yogurt and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Garnish with cashews and cilantro and serve on brown or jasmine rice.

TOTAL:  $7.49 or $1.87 per serving (rice NOT included).

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition (rice NOT included):

372 calories per serving

18 grams of fat

19 carbs

34 grams protein

4 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kate #

    Looks really good!

    Glad your kitchen looks like mine. I spend half of my cooking time with a 9-month-old attached to my leg.

    January 26, 2012
    • It always makes for an interesting challenge cooking with a child on your hip!
      K

      January 27, 2012
  2. Wow, Kelly, you ARE a great writer. And I don’t even think that because I’m your mom. Hey, I also made the grilled chicken with chiptle glazed carrots. Yum. The family has been asking me to mix it up a bit, so I’m relying on you to help me do that.

    January 27, 2012
    • Love that you gave the chicken and carrots a try…and that the family approved. Even if you are my mom, I appreciate the love!

      January 27, 2012
  3. This looks yummy, Kelly, and it’s fun to see your “helpers.”

    January 27, 2012
  4. Jamie Thrash #

    Hey Kelly! Maxie just tipped me off to your blog and I’m so amped! We were just discussing cooking on a budget and I can’t believe I didn’t even know about this little gem on the world wide web! You are a great writer. This is the first post I’ve read but I’ll be baaaaaaack.

    January 30, 2012
    • Yay!!! That Maxie…she’s fabulous.
      K

      January 30, 2012
  5. Kate #

    I made this last night and it was so good and so easy. We put raisins in it because we love the sweet combo with the curry. It tasted even more delicious today for lunch. This will be a new “go to” recipe when I need something quick and good. Thanks, Kelly!

    February 1, 2012
    • Yum! I’m sure raisins would be a great addition!! So glad you enjoyed it.

      February 2, 2012
  6. Kelly, I LOVE this recipe! I added some raisins as a topping,. I thought you’d be happy to know that even If no one else is using the weekly meal plan, I’ve been making the week’s menu you posted. Its probably mostly because I’m your mom, and I love supporting you. But even if i were your evil stepmother, this is fantastic! You know how busy my life is becoming, so tt was great to take your list to the store and get everything I needed for 6 meals. I’ve enjoyed every single one! P

    March 14, 2012
    • I’ve got the world’s best cheerleader in you 🙂

      March 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

