Skip to content

haricots vert with shallots.

Don’t let the fancy pants name of this recipe intimidate you from giving it a whirl.

I mean, don’t you think haricots vert just sounds so much prettier than greeeeeen beans?  There are some terms that are just fun to use while cooking, and should be used often while swirling a glass of white wine.  Haricots vert.  And while I’m at it, when I use the word “blanch,” that’s fancy for cooking the beans in boiling water, then dunking in ice water to prevent further cooking.

Stick by me, friends…I’ll help you navigate all those fancy, fluffy, culinary words.  Now grab your glass of white wine.

Ok, let’s keep going.

While your green beans are taking their ice water bath, cook up some shallots in butter and olive oil.

Saute the green beans with the shallots for a minute or two, then season with salt and pepper, and serve.  You may want to try them with this almond crusted chicken or this sliced sirloin, and you’ll be under $3 per person for dinner!

Hericots Vert (Green Beans) with Shallots

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1 pound haricots vert or green beans, ends removed

1 tablespoon butter

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

3 shallots, chopped

salt and pepper

Instructions:

Heat a large pot of water over medium-high heat until boiling.  Blanch beans in the water for 3 minutes, then drain and immerse in a bowl of ice water.

Heat butter and olive oil in a large pot or pan and saute the shallots over medium heat for 6-9 minutes, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned.  Drain the beans and then toss with the shallots for a minute or two.  Season with salt and pepper and serve hot.

TOTAL:  $3.24 or $.81 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

90 calories per serving

6 grams of fat

8 carbs

2 grams protein

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. It definitely makes it sound less frugal :D. I personally feel that ‘green bean’ runs rather well off the tongue. That looks like a nice fresh dish though 🙂

    February 17, 2012
    • Thanks Frugalfeeding! You’re quick on the comments!…

      February 18, 2012
  2. I just discovered shallots, and I don’t know how I’ve lived without them all these years! Your recipe is so simple and looks so good – can’t wait to try it! By the way, did I see you in the latest issue of Everyday Food Magazine? That “budget” issue rocks!

    February 17, 2012
    • Hey Jennifer! Seriously, where have those shallots been all our lives? I just started cooking with them in the last year or two also…so good. And as for that little magazine, well yes. I’ve been waiting to get a copy and first little giveaway to let the word out. In the meantime I’m practicing patience…

      February 18, 2012
  3. {Main St. Cuisine} #

    I make something very similar and the shallots totally elevate the haricots vert to something special. I love it when something so simple tastes so good and bonus, within budget!

    Allison

    February 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

