Skip to content

lemon blueberry muffins.

As you know I’m often looking for new ways to use the meyer lemons that I’ve somehow managed not to kill in the pot on my front porch.  So when blueberries were on sale last week for $1.50 per half pint, I whipped up these muffins.

I used half whole wheat flour but you could go with all whole wheat or just stick with all-purpose depending on your mood.  I bet you could make these gluten-free too, but I always get confused as to what flours to use and in what proportions so I’m afraid you’re out of luck on this one if you’re gluten-free.  But alas, I have other recipes for you like these cookies or this baked oatmeal.

I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that blueberries are packed with super duper anti-oxidants so your body will thank you for enjoying a muffin or two.

Come on.  Just do it.

So serve these up with some scrambled eggs with goat cheese or chile rellenos and fruit, and brunch or dinner is served for around $1.50 per serving!

Lemon Blueberry Muffins

(Makes 8-10 muffins)

What You’ll Need:

6 tablespoons butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs, at room temperature

3/4 teaspoons vanilla

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt or sour cream

juice from 1 lemon

2 tablespoons milk

1 1/4 cups flour (I used half whole wheat, half white)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 half pint fresh blueberries

zest of 1 lemon

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Line muffin pans with liners or grease with non-stick spray or butter.

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.  Add eggs one at a time, then add vanilla, yogurt (or sour cream), lemon juice and milk.  Separately, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  With mixer on low add the flour mixture to the batter and beat just until combined.  Fold in the blueberries and lemon zest until batter is completely mixed.

Scoop batter into the prepared muffin pans, filling each cup just over the top.  Bake 20-25 minutes until a tester comes out clean.

TOTAL:  $3.88 or $.49 per muffin (if you make 8).

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

200 calories per muffin (based on making 8)

8 grams of fat

28 carbs

4 grams protein

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Per half pint?! What?! How can you measure blueberries by the pint! That makes no sense! Anyway, if I ignore such ridiculousness, these look really great! I love their size and look – it’s always good when one can legitimately eat two.

    February 21, 2012
    • I’m really not sure how to explain our ridiculous ways of measuring things here in the States… 🙂

      February 21, 2012
  2. I have a Meyer lemon tree in a pot too! My husband bought it for me for Mother’s Day several years ago. I was thrilled! I’m weird that way 🙂 These muffins are to die for and a great way to use up my lemons!

    February 25, 2012
    • Thanks Valerie! Love having lemons on hand…

      February 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

