Skip to content

next week’s menu.

I thought I might try something a little different today and help you plan next week’s meals.

Let’s plan on 6 meals, assuming the 7th will be either out or something quick at home (as if often the case in our house…usually it’s pancakes or grilled cheese :).

This menu is based primarily around chicken (which I look to stock up on when I find it for around $1.99/lb) as well as sausage ($2.99/lb or less).  Enjoy!

Meal 1:  Creamy Sausage and Tomato Pasta and a Strawberry, Feta and Toasted Almond Salad ($6.80 for the pasta + $3.50 for the salad)

Meal 2:  Feta and Herb Stuffed Chicken and Hericots Vert with Shallots ($7.16 for the chicken +$3.24 for the green beans)

Meal 3:  Cashew Chicken Curry and a Simple Side Salad ($7.49 for the curry+$2.00 for a salad)

Meal 4:  Lentil and Goat Cheese Tostadas and a Veggie ($6.00 for the tostadas + $1.50 for the veggie)

Meal 5: Bacon and Egg Pizza and a Simple Side Salad ($6.60 for the pizza + $2.00 for a salad)

Meal 6:  Sausage, White Bean and Spinach Soup and crusty bread ($5.58 for the soup + $2.00 for bread)

Total Cost:  $53.87 for 6 meals.  That’s $8.97 per meal or $2.24 per person (well, less than that since the pizza and pasta serve 6…leftovers!).

Costs based on prices included in this spreadsheet where I’ve included what I pay per item, per serving, etc.

Here’s the shopping list of items you may not already have in your pantry (i.e. spices, oil, vinegar):

  • 2 pounds sausage (I opt for chicken sausage, which I stock up on when I can find it for $2.99/lb)
  • 4 onions
  • 8 garlic cloves
  • 1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
  • plain greek yogurt
  • 1 pound pasta (bowtie or spiral)
  • 1 cup basil
  • asiago cheese
  • 2 heads lettuce
  • strawberries
  • feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup almonds (buy just what you need in the bulk section)
  •  1/4 cup italian parsley
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts (buy just what you need in the bulk section)
  • 6, 4-6 ounce chicken breasts
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 pound green beans
  • 3 shallots
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1/2 cup cashews (buy just what you need in the bulk section)
  • brown rice
  • 1 cup brown lentils
  • 5 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can chipotle chiles in adobo sauce
  • 8 corn tortillas
  • goat cheese
  • veggie
  • 1 pizza dough
  • mozzarella cheese
  • bacon
  • eggs
  • green onions
  • 1, 15-ounce can white beans

Then you can use leftover ingredients for breakfast tacos, blt sandwiches, scrambled eggs with goat cheese, veggie soup or pancakes topped with strawberries.  #useitallup.

** For those of you who subscribe via email, my apologies for the confusion!  I did something totally lame and accidentally published the post prior to completion.  My bad!

Is this helpful?  Let me know what you think!

Happy Cooking!

K

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kelly, this is fabulous! I’m going to print out the list and take it with me to do my grocery shopping next week!

    March 2, 2012
  2. The bacon and egg pizza looks divine! What a great idea. As always, helpful (and delicious) information 🙂

    March 2, 2012
  3. Erin W #

    Where is next weeks list? I have LOVED following your guide and my family has enjoyed all the meals. I especially love having a plan to use up everything I have bought. 😉

    March 15, 2012
    • I LOVE that you asked! I’m thinking I’ll post one this weekend for next week. Wasn’t sure if people were into it, but love your feedback.
      Thanks!!
      K

      March 15, 2012
      • Erin W #

        I’m a little behind but tonight was the lentil tostada’s.. I must say I was skeptical about how this would taste but it was delish!! Looking forward to tomorrow night’s pizza. Please please keep posting these… AHHHmazing.

        March 16, 2012
      • Can we be friends?! I love that you’re making these recipes! As for the tostadas, I thought the same thing and have heard from so many other people who had been skeptical too. Who knew lentils were so good and fabulous for you. Next week’s menu coming this weekend for you, girl.

        March 16, 2012
  4. Meygan #

    love the shopping list. Makes it extremely helpful for my trip to the grocery store

    March 27, 2012
    • oh goody! glad it’s helpful.

      March 28, 2012
  5. Erin W #

    Is there anyway you can add a quick link to the weekly menus? I am still on the previous one and its becoming hard to find it because it’s now buried by more recent posts. I refer to these lists pretty much daily and it would help me a bunch if its not difficult to do. Needless to say, I am a HUGE fan.

    March 30, 2012
    • You bet! I have a Menu Plan category on the right side that I’ll post all plans under so you can get to it there, and I’ll try to remember to link to previous plans from new menu plan posts. You might be a huge fan but I’m hugely honored by your feedback!

      March 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

