Skip to content

sauteed spinach with garlic.

I’ll just tell you right now I’m not sure your kids will eat this spinach.  At least mine didn’t.  I even tried adding some raisins on top.

Oh well.  More for you.

Truth be told, I was really hoping my kids would gobble this spinach up and I could snap several pics of them blissfully munching away and gloat over include them here…you know because now that I have a food blog and all I figured my kids would rise to the occasion and make me proud. But I’m afraid all I have to report is that they wanted nothing to do with it all.  Then again maybe I shouldn’t be surprised…just yesterday Emma insisted we make butterscotch fish popsicles for Mama Kitty.  So just shows you what she knows about good food.

I made this spinach when bunches were on sale for $.99 per bunch.  Oh but please be sure to wash the leaves well.  Do you ever wonder how spinach gets so filthy?  Also, it’s on the dirty dozen list so wash away!

The key to this spinach is lots of garlic – we’re talking 5 cloves.  That’s right – I’m helping you fight off colds here, my friends.

Sprinkle a little lemon juice on top, swirl in a little butter, and maybe top with a few raisins (or maybe not).

Do your kids eat spinach?  Do you toss it in smoothies? Throw some in brownies?

Tell me your tricks!  I’m all ears!

Sauteed Spinach with Garlic

(serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1 bunch spinach

2 tablespoons olive oil

5 cloves garlic, minced

2 teaspoons salt

3/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 tablespoons butter

juice of 1/2 lemon

raisins (optional)

Instruction

Rinse off the spinach and pat dry.

In a pot over medium heat, heat the olive oil and saute the garlic for about 1 minute, until fragrant but not brown.  Add the spinach, salt and pepper and toss with the garlic for 2 minutes.  Turn up heat to high for 1 minute, add the butter and lemon juice and stir to combine flavors.  Season to taste with extra salt and pepper.  I added a few raisins on top when serving.

TOTAL:  $1.64 or $.41 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

91 calories per serving

7 grams of fat

7 carbs

4 grams protein

3 grams of fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sarah #

    The only way I can get my kids to eat spinach is by tossing it in our morning smoothies (which have lots of bananas and berries) and my little girl loves it in your risotto. That’s one of our favorite dinners!

    March 8, 2012
    • So I’m definitely going to have to get a new blender. Lost mine earlier in the year to my very curious 18 month old. Such a bummer. Well smoothies will be the vehicle to get them to eat their spinach I think. So glad your daughter likes the risotto!

      March 8, 2012
  2. I loved eating spinach like this in Italy — the first time I had it cooked with lots of garlic. Some kids like spinach dip — the kind with creamy cheese in it. And when I worked with kids we made baked wontons out of spinach or chard, green onions and feta: they liked folding and stuffing the wontons. Closer to home, Mom made lasagna with a middle layer of spinach mixed with egg and cottage cheese and we scarfed that right down (the other layers had marinara and mushroom or marinara and meat).

    March 8, 2012
    • Those wontons sound fabulous! I’ll have to figure out how to make those…see if the kids will notice the spinach. Thanks Sharyn.

      March 8, 2012
  3. I think it’s just one of those things that kids won’t eat… I think it looks really delicious though, very healthy too!

    March 8, 2012
  4. Kelly #

    I make a veggie lasagna with spinach, swiss chard or kale in the ricotta or cottage cheese layer. I put it all in a food processor, with a little oregano, and wiz it to no end. The end product looks like pale green paste but paired with the rest of the veggies and sauce…yummy in the tummy!

    March 12, 2012
    • Great idea! Thanks Kelly (ps – great name!)

      March 12, 2012
  5. I put it in smoothies (like a TON of it!…it’s amazing how quickly it blends in!) and include my kids in making them 🙂 They seem to be more bold in trying things they get to help me make 🙂 We also put a few leaves on their plates OFTEN and eat them like leaves…its amazing what boys think is cool 🙂

    March 25, 2012
    • Love the appeal to the boyishness! I’m going to have to try that with Luke. And too bad my blender broke last year and I was too cheap to replace it…smoothies are a great idea!

      March 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

