Skip to content

wine friday: found object gewurztraminer.

“Ga-wat-tra-meener?

Yeah, that was me attempting to repeat the name of this variety of white wine when it was recommended to me by a very knowledgeable wine guy at Trader Joes.  You can see I’m a bit out of my element in the white wine varietals department.  I said I was a foodie, not a white wine connoisseur.

Anyway, we brought this to a friend’s house for dinner last night and though none of us were regular white wine drinkers we all agreed the wine tasted like one that would probably cost twice what I paid for it…so who cares if you can’t pronounce it!

For your consideration:  Found Object Gewurztraminer


Gewurztraminer is highly aromatic and definitely not subtle so I’d recommend you pair it with something spicy like Indian, Chinese or Mexican foods.

$4.99 at Trader Joes.

Happy Friday!

What about you?  Have any sub-$10 favorites?

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. My husband (who speaks German) says to pronounce the “w” like “vee” and the “i” like “eee.” Then you say it perfectly! I think this wine is an acquired taste – I prefer the more subtle Riesling. But good for you – you tried something new!

    March 10, 2012
    • Yum! I like Riesling too…so glad we have your husband to help us pronounce this wine!

      March 10, 2012
  2. Kelly #

    I love the wine at Trader Joes! My husband and I are more sweet wine drinkers but we have to give this one a try. Thanks for sharing.

    March 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

