Skip to content

pear, bacon and gorgonzola flatbread.

This recipe was a grand experiment.

My hypothesis was it would be fabulous, given the control group ingredients – pear, bacon, gorgonzola, and mascarpone cheeses.

I was, indeed, correct.

Nearly all these items were already in my fridge, begging to be put to use, with the exception of the mascarpone cheese which I had bought for a tiramisu and still had a little leftover.  If you haven’t cooked with it before, mascarpone is the sweet Italian version of our cream cheese.  Delish.  I’ll give you a few more ideas for how to use it a little later this week, if you decide to buy it for this recipe.

So after you roll out the dough, spread a layer of mascarpone over the top.

Then sprinkle on the pear, bacon and gorgonzola cheese.

Bake until the bacon sizzles, the cheese melts and you simply can’t stand waiting for it any longer.

Looking for other ways to use your gorgonzola?  Here are several suggestions:

Gorgonzola Popovers

Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Tart

Gorgonzola Stuffed Dates with Prosciutto

Pear, Bacon and Gorgonzola Flatbread

(serves 4 for a light dinner, maybe with a salad.  otherwise serves 8 as an appetizer.)

A quick note – I served this as dinner anticipating that it would more be like a pizza.  It was phenomenal, and I called it a flatbread here because it was light on the cheese.  If you want to make it a heartier pizza, I would suggest adding a little mozzarella on top of the mascarpone and add the pear, bacon and gorgonzola.

What You’ll Need:

1 pizza dough (I prefer the wheat dough from Trader Joes)

1/4 cup mascarpone cheese, softened

1 pear, sliced thin

4 strips cooked bacon, chopped (I refer turkey bacon but the real stuff would be amazing too)

1/2 cup gorgonzola cheese, crumbled

Instruction

Preheat oven to 450F.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out pizza dough into desired thickness.  (I tried rolling it super thin but found it a bit tricky with the pre-made dough).  Spread mascarpone cheese over dough, then top with pear, bacon and gorgonzola cheese.

Bake on a rimmed baking sheet* for 12-15 minutes, or until cheese is melted, bacon is sizzling and the dough is cooked through.

*Updated note:  some readers have indicated that between the mascarpone cheese and the bacon their smoke alarms were put to the test.  I think using a rimmed baking sheet would likely help, as would making sure your bacon is cooked and a lot of the fat already removed.

TOTAL:  $5.78 or $1.44 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

408 calories per serving (based on using turkey bacon)

15 grams of fat

55 carbs

19 grams protein

6 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow, this looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

    March 12, 2012
    • Assia, thanks for the feedback! It was amazing…and if I hadn’t made it to share with company I might have eaten the whole thing…

      March 12, 2012
      • I would have done the same thing, I’m sure!

        March 13, 2012
  2. You had me at “bacon” 🙂

    March 12, 2012
  3. Wonderful. I’m so glad you called this a flatbread – I dislike it when people call it a pizza, because it is slightly different. Well named and well done 😀

    March 12, 2012
  4. This looks fabulous! Must make.

    March 12, 2012
    • oh friend. you absolutely MUST make it. And then come back and tell me all about it.

      March 13, 2012
  5. Yum. I am not a bacon fan (I know! The blasphemy!) but I make a pizza I love with carmelized onions, gorgonzola and walnuts. I think the sliced pears would be great in that combo in place of the onions–the same soft sweetness with much less work! Thanks for the inspiration!

    March 13, 2012
    • Heaven! Or in addition to the onions, gorgonzola and walnuts. Can you really ever have too many toppings?!

      March 13, 2012
  6. kelly #

    I had a simliar one recently at The Cheesecake Factory and fell in love. Ana makes a similar salty/sweet one too (made with fig jam). I will FOR SURE try this. Thanks!!!

    March 14, 2012
    • Thanks Kelly! Like Ana, I can’t resist the sweet/salty combo. Enjoy!

      March 14, 2012
  7. That does look fantastic. Apparently lots of other people thinks so too! Must be good. I’m going to try it with some naan.

    March 16, 2012
    • Oh naan…how I love thee.

      March 17, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 6 fall-inspired meals for $46.05, shopping list included! | OC Family Blogs

Leave a Reply

