Skip to content

next week’s menu plan #2, shopping list included.

Holy Smokes!  I wasn’t sure anyone was going to use the last menu I put together but I got so much feedback offline and so many of you have asked where the next menu is so you can get shopping so…here we go!

A couple caveats this week:

1.  I’ve based the total (just under $50) on growing your own herbs and lemons so if you’re in Alaska where lemons are several dollars each (ouch!) or if you don’t have a garden to grow your own, your total will be higher.  You can use dried herbs of course but I find fresh makes for an even tastier dish!

2.  Also, this total is based on the ingredients used just in these meals, so you may have to buy a larger quantity and find other ways to use it through the week (i.e. cheese in your salads, cilantro in a homemade dressing, etc).

Enjoy!  And please keep the feedback coming!

Dinner #1:  Lemon Herb Chicken with Balsamic Roasted Asparagus  ($8.26 for the chicken+$3.32 for the asparagus)

Dinner #2:  Asparagus, Goat Cheese and Lemon Pasta and a side salad ($7.62+estimated $2.00 for a salad)

Dinner #3:  Southwest Turkey Soup and a side salad ($8.50 for the soup + estimated $2.00 for the salad)

Dinner #4:  Cottage Cheese Pancakes and Fruit ($2.68 for the pancakes+estimated $2.00 for fruit)

Dinner #5:  Goat Cheese and Roasted Garlic Pizza with Arugula and a side salad ($4.91 for the pizza+estimated $2.00 for a salad)

Dinner #6:  Honey Peanut Chicken with Brown Rice ($5.39 for the Chicken with rice)

Total for 6 nights of dinners:  $48.68!  That’s about $2 per person.

I’m not kidding…doing this has been so enlightening.  Can you even eat fast food for $2 bucks a person?

Shopping List (items you likely don’t already have in your pantry):

Poultry

3-4 pounds split fryer or 4 split (or boneless skinless) chicken breasts

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 pound ground chicken or turkey

Produce/Herbs

3 onions

1/4 cup rosemary (fresh is best)

2 tablespoons sage (fresh or dried)

1 tablespoon tarragon (fresh or dried)

1 teaspoon thyme (fresh or dried)

3 lemons

2 limes

2 bunches asparagus

1 cup corn (can be frozen)

1 bunch cilantro

1 avocado

1 jalapeno

2 heads lettuce

4 ounces arugula

green beans or broccoli for honey peanut chicken

1 head garlic

fruit to serve with pancakes (something interesting on sale)

Pantry

1 cup white wine

1 pound spiral pasta

1 cup cooked black beans

1 15-ounce can diced tomatoes

1 4-ounce can diced green chiles

3 cups chicken stock

taco seasoning

toppings for pancakes – maple syrup, jam, sauteed fruit

1 pizza dough

brown rice

1 1/2 tablespoons natural peanut butter

Dairy/Eggs

2 tablespoons asiago cheese (optional for asparagus)

7 ounces goat cheese

1 1/4 cup cottage cheese

8 eggs

1 cup grated mozzarella

And check back on Facebook tomorrow where I’ll announce the winner of this week’s cookbook giveaway!

Join the Community on Facebook

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mitzi Kelly #

    Will be making several of these recipes this week. I love the Cottage Cheese Pancakes. Your dad has made them for us at one of our marketing retreats. All I can say is delish!

    March 18, 2012
    • You go Mitzi! Love that you’ll be trying some of these. And pancakes for dinner – I figure most families need a quick dinner on the go during the week so hope everyone enjoys them as much as we all do. Thanks!

      March 18, 2012
  2. Kelly,
    I was just coming home from church and thinking “gosh, I sure hope Kelly posts a menu for the week so I don’t have to make a shopping list.” And you came through! Thanks… I love that you organized the list by category. Where did you get such a great idea?
    Mama

    March 18, 2012
    • Hooray!! I come from brilliant and creative stock 🙂

      March 18, 2012
  3. Kelly!

    I love this! Thank you so much for all the time you spent putting this together…it’s so fun to see how we can eat WELL on a tight budget 🙂 I hope you don’t mind me sharing this with my blog readers! It’s fun to link up!

    March 19, 2012
    • Danice!! Are you kidding me?! I’m honored you would link to me!! Thank you so much. Hope all is well!

      March 19, 2012
  4. Erin W #

    Thanks! And I am very excited that I already have much of this on hand so my price will be even lower. Looking forward to trying more recipes.

    March 21, 2012
    • Thank you thank you! And let me know if you have any feedback…I have thick skin, really.

      March 21, 2012
  5. Wyndi #

    Just randomly wondering how your kids do with these recipes? They all look SO amazing! I want to try a few of them this week, all your recipes have worked BEAUTIFULLY for my family. Thanks. Your blog is so fun!! Excited to try the pancakes. My fam LOVES breakfast for dinner. Its always a good, quick, last minute fix. 🙂

    March 21, 2012
    • Thanks Wyndi! My kids usually do well with these recipes, though sometimes I have to deconstruct them a bit (they don’t like soup but will eat sausage and beans). Thank you for the feedback! Keep it coming!

      March 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

