Skip to content

roasted salmon with blackberry jalapeno butter sauce.

A few musings on fish and seafood…

1.  I’m a big fan.  But admittedly I don’t buy fish or seafood a lot because it tends to be on the pricier side and my kids don’t really dig it.  Probably because I don’t serve it often enough.  A vicious cycle.

2.  Occasionally I’ll grab some salmon, shrimp, ahi, mahi or halibut when I can find it for $4.99-6.99/lb.  Also, I’ve found Costco and those ethnic grocery stores have good prices on their fish and seafood so head there if you’re in the market.

3.  If you aren’t a big ham person (as I am, or am not I guess), consider this salmon as part of a festive Easter lunch!

4.  Yes, Mom, I’m FINALLY putting a fish recipe on the blog.  Can I be your favorite daughter again?


Yes, I used the B word is in this recipe title.  But there are healthy fats in the salmon so it’s ok, right?

Maybe they cancel each other out.



This sauce is so good – sweet and spicy and buttery.  And super simple to make.

The salmon would be great grilled too!  If you have a working bbq.  I don’t.  Not that I’m bitter or anything.

Enjoy!
Roasted Salmon with Blackberry Jalapeno Butter Sauce

(adapted from Heather Christo, serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

2 pounds salmon fillet

olive oil

sea salt and pepper

1 1/2 cups red wine

1 1/2 cups blackberries

1 jalapeno pepper, minced

3 tablespoons sugar

6 tablespoons butter

1 teaspoon sea salt

Instruction

For the Salmon:
Turn oven on to broil.  Place salmon on a baking sheet and brush with olive oil.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Broil for 10-12 minutes or until cooked through.
For the Blackberry Jalapeno Butter Sauce:
While salmon is cooking, heat wine over medium-high heat until boiling and reduce by half.  Add blackberries, reduce heat to low and cook 10 minutes.  Add jalapeno and sugar and simmer 3 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in the butter until sauce is thickened and shiny.  I mashed up the blackberries a bit to make the sauce a littler thicker.  Add salt and check for taste.  Pour on top of salmon fillets and serve immediately.

TOTAL:  $13.75 or $2.29 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

424 calories per serving

26 grams of fat

11 carbs

26 grams protein

If you give it a try, have any pics to share, or have a recipe you’d like me to “frugalize” let me know!  Find me on Facebook or Twitter.

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ok, now I’m intrigued. I haven’t been much of a fish person my whole life – probably for the same reasons as your kids 🙂 But I know that I should be eating more, especially salmon. Your blackberry sauce might actually get me to try it.

    And don’t worry about the butter. A little butter never hurt anyone 😉

    April 3, 2012
  2. I love blackberries. I am going to save this recipe to try during blackberry season.

    April 4, 2012
    • Yes! You could try with cherries too.

      April 4, 2012
  3. Renee #

    Kel, I just bought salmon without anything particular in mind. I’ll try this as it looks delicious! Thanks for adding to the variety of our dinner table.

    April 13, 2012
    • I’m honored you would try it! Especially for such a discriminating foodie like you! Enjoy.

      April 13, 2012
  4. Laura #

    Made this tonight! It was so awesome!

    June 12, 2012
    • Thanks Laura for the feedback! It’s one of my favorites too 🙂

      June 12, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Roasted Salmon with Blackberry Jalapeno Butter Sauce recipe, Fish Recipes & Dishes

Leave a Reply

