Skip to content

orzo with spinach and feta.

Today’s been a gift of a day.  One of those days where, without even trying, I find myself present in each little moment, way more patient with my kids, grateful for all the small things.  Definitely not like last week, when I was cranky and horrible and trying way too hard to be neither of those things.  Funny how life works.

And so because today feels surprisingly refreshing, this recipe seems appropriate to share.  Perfect for spring.  Light and tasty.

Cook up some orzo, toss in spinach until it wilts, then add some feta, herbs, lemon juice and olive oil.

A Springy side, ready in 15 minutes.  Enjoy!

Orzo with Spinach and Feta

(Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Great Food Fast, serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1/2 pound orzo

1 bunch spinach, washed and roughly chopped

1/2 cup chopped mint or basil

1/2 cup feta cheese (I used light feta)

juice from 1/2 lemon

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt and pepper

Instructions:

Cook orzo according to the package instructions.  Stir in the spinach until the spinach wilts, then drain.

In a separate bowl, toss the spinach and orzo with the remaining ingredients.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

TOTAL:  $4.25 or $1.06 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

290 calories per serving

6 grams of fat

47 carbs

13 grams protein

5 grams fiber

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. As I read this, I’m mentally running to the cupboard to see if I have any orzo: I have feta and I have spinach and arugula that I need to use up — this may be dinner tonight!

    April 9, 2012
    • Oh good!! Hope you enjoy(ed) it!

      April 10, 2012
  2. Amber #

    This turned out great … a perfect spring recipe! I served it with fish.

    May 24, 2012
    • What a great pairing!! Glad it turned out well.

      May 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

