Skip to content

lemon coconut cookies.

Two things you absolutely must pair together:  lemon and coconut.

I think next week I’ll try them together in a cake.

Pancakes would be good.

Definitely in some sort of a gooey bar.

Last week I stuck them in these cookies.  They turned out light, delicate, melt in your mouth good.  I’m going to wait right here while you go make them.

Yup, still here.

Ok, fine.  You can pin them for later.  Just promise me you’ll make them!  They’re so good…

Super easy – mix your wet ingredients, toss in the dry stuff…then all that lemony-coconutty goodness.


Emma grated the lemon.  She did a fine job, I think.  I hope I’m not violating some serious child labor laws having all her willing help in the kitchen.  She works hard.  I pay her handsomely in cookies.  I promise.


Roll the cookies in sugar….then pop them in the oven and try your hardest to wait patiently for 8-10 minutes while they finish cooking.


Yes!  They’re ready!  You did it!

Grab a cup of tea and a good book.  You’re all set.

Lemon Coconut Cookies

(Adapted from Heather Christo)

(Makes 2 dozen cookies)

½ cup butter
¾ cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/3 cups flour
1 tsp cream of tartar
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
2/3 cup shredded sweetened coconut
zest from 1 lemon
juice from 1 lemon

1/2 cup sugar

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cream together the butter and sugar.  Add the egg and mix until incorporated.

Separately, combine the flour, tartar, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until dry ingredients are nearly combined.  Add the coconut, lemon zest and juice and continue mixing until dough is thick.

Roll dough into small balls about the size of large walnuts, then roll in the sugar.  Bake on a cookie sheet for 8-10 minutes, then cool on a rack.

TOTAL:  $2.89 or $.12 per cookie.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

103 calories per cookie

5 grams of fat

14 carbs

1 gram protein (well that’s something…)

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. These look delicious, Kelly, with the cracked top.

    April 11, 2012
    • Oh Sharyn…I think I ate 5 standing up at the sink. So embarrassing..but so good.

      April 11, 2012
  2. These sound amazing! Two of my favorite ingredients!

    April 11, 2012
    • They were over the top good. Enjoy!

      April 11, 2012
  3. I made these and thought they were delicious. Thanks for rh

    April 12, 2012
    • Thanks for sharing.

      April 12, 2012
      • That was fast?!! Did you make them before I posted them or are you just quick on the draw?!!

        April 12, 2012
      • I’m quick! I wanted to see how lemon and coconut would taste together; and you were right, it’s the perfect combo! Thanks for your awesome recipes!

        April 13, 2012
  4. Hi Kelly! I’ve nominated you for The Kreativ Blogger award. Check out my latest post for more info: http://downhomesouthjersey.com/2012/04/12/the-kreativ-blogger-award/.

    Thanks for inspiring me 🙂

    April 12, 2012
  5. Judy #

    Super yummy~just the right balance of lemon and coconut! I will definitely make these again.

    May 15, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. TheSimplyBar – Lemon Coconut « Healthy Stuff Reviews

Leave a Reply

