Skip to content

hearty chicken tortilla soup.

Let me introduce you to my new favorite chicken tortilla soup recipe.

Yeah, I know.  There are about a million recipes out there.


There are brothy tortilla soups and hearty ones.

This here’s a hearty one, and here’s why:  corn tortillas sauteed with cilantro, garlic and onion.  The tortillas get all warm and cozy and hot and mushy.


Toss in spices, lots of diced tomatoes and chicken broth…


Throw in your pre-cooked chicken, heat through and top with your favorite tortilla soup goodies!

This soup serves 6 so you may end up with leftovers, or then again maybe not. If you ARE disciplined enough to refrain from the second serving, this soup’s great the next day.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

(adapted from Stop and Smell the Rosemary, serves 6)

What You’ll Need:

3 tablespoons olive oil

8 corn tortillas, chopped

6 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1 onion, chopped

1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes

2 tablespoons ground cumin

1 tablespoon chili powder

6 cups chicken stock

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

4 cooked chicken breasts (about 16-24 ounces), shredded or cubed

toppings – jack cheese, avocado, sour cream, fried or baked tortilla strips

Instruction

Heat oil in a large pan or pot set over medium heat.  Add tortillas, garlic, cilantro and onion.  Saute 2-3 minutes.  Stir in tomatoes.  Bring to a boil, then add cumin, chili powder and chicken stock.  Return to a boil.  Reduce heat, then add salt and cayenne.  Simmer 30 minutes.  Stir in chicken and heat through.
Top with cheese, avocado, sour cream and tortilla strips, if desired.

TOTAL:  $9.07 or $1.51 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

300 calories per serving

11 grams of fat

23 carbs

28 grams protein

4 grams fiber

If you give it a try, have any pics to share, or have a recipe you’d like me to “frugalize” let me know!  Find me on Facebook or Twitter.

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. That looks delicious! I’ve never had a tortilla soup – it’s not such a big thing in Britain. I’ll have to give it a whirl. It certainly looks delicious!

    April 17, 2012
    • Start a new tortilla soup craze in Britain!

      April 17, 2012
  2. I like that this is a tomato-based soup. So many tortilla soups are just brothy and thin. Looks great!

    April 17, 2012
    • I know, right? Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

      April 17, 2012
  3. I have been really enjoying your blog… so I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award – here is the link:
    http://modernchristianwoman.wordpress.com/

    April 17, 2012
    • Thanks so much Stephanie! What an honor.

      April 17, 2012
      • Your so welcome! I really look forward to your posts!

        April 17, 2012
  4. wendy (luce) jacobsen #

    wonderful, Kelly! I love your blog. Definitely inspires me and helps me keep more variety in my cooking!!

    April 18, 2012
    • Wendy so great to hear from you!! It’s so fun to connect with people through the blog and over my favorite subject – food! Hope all is well!

      April 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

